Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2013, 01:38 AM
FexAudio FexAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Posts: 1
Default Disk Allocation Templates in Pro Tools 10

Hi Guys,

I've just updated my system to Pro Tools10 HD and there's a little thing I'm not happy with.

I'm working a lot with Session Templates, to increase the speed of my workflow.
Also I'm working with splitted Disk Allocations when I record, with up to 4 different Hard Drives. In Pro Tools 8 HD, when I created a Session based on a Template, it automatically changed the Disk Allocation in the way I wanted.
(Keeps the Disk Allocation for the several Channels, but created new sub- and audio files folders on the disks to put audio in it).

Now in Pro Tools 10 it only changes one of my four allocations and keeps the Audio Files folder of the template for the rest. So it's kind of randomly writing the files to places I don't want them to be.

To keep things like i was doing it before i have now to go to the disk allocation menu every time i created a session based on template and set it right, which is really annoying when i have several sessions a day.

I would be glad to know if there is anyone out there with the same problem or if it's just me and i'm doing something wrong
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:12 AM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: Disk Allocation Templates in Pro Tools 10

For me, recording to so many drives seems like it could end up in a headache. But that's just my take.
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2013, 09:17 AM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default Disk Allocation Templates in Pro Tools 10

This was a nessary feature years ago when disk thru-put/space was lacking, much less so now.
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2013, 09:36 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Disk Allocation Templates in Pro Tools 10

I'm no at my computer but there may be some prefs and options related to disk allocation in the prefs. I never use it and have not needed it. So I'm a little rusty.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2013, 08:36 PM
Miker84 Miker84 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: Disk Allocation Templates in Pro Tools 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by FexAudio View Post
I would be glad to know if there is anyone out there with the same problem or if it's just me and i'm doing something wrong
Hi Fex

We're running 3 Pro Tools 10.3.2 HDX systems and getting similar issues. I work at a Post House and each of 'us engineers' works with a basic template setup for all of our sessions. And although we do not split our audio across different drive, we've found that the disk allocation has been randomly changing for some of the tracks, thus writing audio files to multiple 'Audio Files' folders on the drive.

We're in the process of doing some tests to further nut this issue out, but I just thought i'd BUMP this thread to keep it fresh.

Will report back soon :)

Mike
__________________
____________________________________
Senior Sound Designer
Cutting Edge
http://www.cuttingedge.com.au/mike-lange/

ProTools 11 HDX
Control 24
MacPro 8core 2.66Ghz
24Gb ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8 Disk Allocation and Templates matthewstyles Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-28-2010 01:18 PM
Disc allocation, templates in PT8 Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-27-2009 05:11 AM
Disk Allocation Randomness from Templates Sound-Influence Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-07-2007 06:59 PM
Templates --- Disc Allocation archtop 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-14-2004 12:58 PM
templates and disk allocation Barnaby Bristol Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-08-2002 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com