Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2010, 01:34 AM
milan cutlac milan cutlac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cluj/Romania
Posts: 23
Default Sound stuck issue : Edirol & MIDIMATE & Nord Lead

Hy all,

I post here after some big research over the forum. I've found similar issues, but I couldn't find the cause of my problem though.

So here it is :
I have an Edirol PCR-500 midi keyboard with midi out connected to a MIDIMATE II interface. The other midi cable from MIDIMATE II is connected to the midi in port of my Nord Lead 2. The MIDIMATE II usb is connected to a usb port of my Macbook that runs PT. The MIDI Thru option in PT is checked. When I press a key on the Edirol midi keyboard, the Nord Lead 2 is triggered and it sounds. But when I keep playing over Edirol, after a few seconds, the sound from Nord Lead 2 is stuck, keeps repeating a certain sound, that sometimes is changend when I press a key in Edirol, and sometimes it is going on forever. Sometimes I can stop it if I select the record button in PT that is associated to the midi channel.

I've tried to change the sound source from Nord Lead 2 to Korg EMX. Same behavior. When I use Nord Lead 2, the behavior repeats even if I set the Local Off option for the synthesizer. I've note that if I deselect MIDI Thru option in PT, then I can hear no sound when I press I key over the Edirol, but if I make a recording (blind recording, cause I can hear no sound), when I play that recording, the midi sequence is triggered correctly, I can hear that the sound is played as expected.

I do not know if the problem is some bad setting in Edirol, PT, or Nord Lead 2 (and EMX), or if it is a combination between a few bad settings.

Please give me a hint, if you have an idea.
Many thanks,
Milan
__________________
MacBook 2.4 Ghz/2 Gb Ram/160 Gb Hdd
Leopard 10.5.4/ PT 7.4.2
MBox2 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2010, 04:12 AM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Sound stuck issue : Edirol & MIDIMATE & Nord Lead

What you might be experiencing here is "midi overlap" since you've got the Edirol connected with usb AND midi cables. Try using only the usb cable and make sure you have either "All" or just the Nord in your incoming midi track.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2010, 04:49 AM
milan cutlac milan cutlac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cluj/Romania
Posts: 23
Default Re: Sound stuck issue : Edirol & MIDIMATE & Nord Lead

Hi Gothboy any many thanks for your entry.

The only connection between Edirol and MacBook is a cable that has midi standard on a side and usb standard on the other. So I do not have the Edirol's usb cable plugged into Edirol's usb port; thus the Edirol is powered by a DC power source.

As I was saying, the MIDIMATE II (https://www.dijkmanmuziek.nl/catalog.../midimate2.jpg) has two midi cables that are united on a side within a usb output. One midi cable is plugged into Edirol, the other in the Nord Lead 2, and the usb in the MacBook.

What I want is to record midi data into PT, and to hear the Nord Lead correctly, when I record, or play the recorded midi data. Also, I want to have other synthesizers in the midi chain, bu first I need to get out of the current issue.

I have an MBOX2, that has no midi port, that is the reason why I use the MIDIMATE midi-to-usb converter.

Milan
__________________
MacBook 2.4 Ghz/2 Gb Ram/160 Gb Hdd
Leopard 10.5.4/ PT 7.4.2
MBox2 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2010, 04:52 AM
milan cutlac milan cutlac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cluj/Romania
Posts: 23
Default Re: Sound stuck issue : Edirol & MIDIMATE & Nord Lead

Sorry, what I have is actually MBOX2 Mini.
__________________
MacBook 2.4 Ghz/2 Gb Ram/160 Gb Hdd
Leopard 10.5.4/ PT 7.4.2
MBox2 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2010, 12:58 PM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Sound stuck issue : Edirol & MIDIMATE & Nord Lead

Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
The only connection between Edirol and MacBook is a cable that has midi standard on a side and usb standard on the other. So I do not have the Edirol's usb cable plugged into Edirol's usb port; thus the Edirol is powered by a DC power source.
With your limited midi setup you need to make use of the Edirol usb connection. You should install any Roland drivers for this(with the controller uninstalled) then plug in the controller using it's own usb cable. You also have to go into the Mac Audio midi studio setup and configure your instruments if you haven't done this yet(you probably did though...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
As I was saying, the MIDIMATE II (https://www.dijkmanmuziek.nl/catalog.../midimate2.jpg) has two midi cables that are united on a side within a usb output. One midi cable is plugged into Edirol, the other in the Nord Lead 2, and the usb in the MacBook.
Right....the midi side has a midi in and out. These both need to be plugged into the Nord. Not the Edirol(This is your issue right here.) This way you'll have seperate midi for both the controller and the Nord.


Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
What I want is to record midi data into PT, and to hear the Nord Lead correctly, when I record, or play the recorded midi data. Also, I want to have other synthesizers in the midi chain, bu first I need to get out of the current issue.
First things first: Is it a Nord Rack unit or a Nord2 with a keyboard? If you have the keyboard version you should make use of it and play your notes into PT right off of the Nord. See if this works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
I have an MBOX2, that has no midi port, that is the reason why I use the MIDIMATE midi-to-usb converter.
Yeah, it's just a mini midi interface. I do the same thing only on a larger scale with a NL2>8 Ch. interface.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2010, 12:55 AM
milan cutlac milan cutlac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cluj/Romania
Posts: 23
Default Re: Sound stuck issue : Edirol & MIDIMATE & Nord Lead

Hi Gothboy,

I did some experiment last night, with the midi chain configuration. I've put the MIDIMATE cable 30 foots away, because it has been given me only headaches. I've plugged the Edirol's USB cable between it and my Macbook. Then I've inserted midi cables between PCR MIDI OUT - NORD LEAD 2 MIDI IN, PCR MIDI IN - NORD LEAD 2 MIDI OUT, and I've set the PCR to act like an interface, meaning that all the signals from it are sent to the computer, and all signals from the computer to go into the PCR MIDI OUT port.

Now it all works like a charm. And I've added the Korg EMX too and I'm able to trigger signals from NL2 and EMX within PCR only. The only problem now is that I have to change the midi tracks from PT to have another midi channel triggered from PCR. If I only change the current midi channel from PCR, it still plays considering the settings from current midi track in PT.

I'm using the keyboard version from NL2.

Anyway, it seems that MIDIMATE is useless in a possible midi chain (?!?)

One more thing. If I want to record the change of the frequency parameter from NL2, I have to assign the function of that button to a button within PCR ?

Now the NL2 is last in the midi chain, it has the MIDI IN port linked to MIDI THRU port of the EMX. I could link MIDI OUT from NL2 to MIDI IN of the PCR, and maybe to try to record that frequency movement directly from NL2. But what if I want to record some filter changes from EMX .. ? What I do with its MIDI OUT port, cause the MIDI IN from PCR is occupied now.

So what is the natural approach in this ?

Thanks,
Milan
__________________
MacBook 2.4 Ghz/2 Gb Ram/160 Gb Hdd
Leopard 10.5.4/ PT 7.4.2
MBox2 Mini
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2010, 01:04 PM
Gothboy's Avatar
Gothboy Gothboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Monica, Ca.
Posts: 1,596
Default Re: Sound stuck issue : Edirol & MIDIMATE & Nord Lead

Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
I did some experiment last night, with the midi chain configuration. I've put the MIDIMATE cable 30 foots away, because it has been given me only headaches. I've plugged the Edirol's USB cable between it and my Macbook. Then I've inserted midi cables between PCR MIDI OUT - NORD LEAD 2 MIDI IN, PCR MIDI IN - NORD LEAD 2 MIDI OUT, and I've set the PCR to act like an interface, meaning that all the signals from it are sent to the computer, and all signals from the computer to go into the PCR MIDI OUT port.
Oh good, so you have 2 seperate midi interfaces.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
Now it all works like a charm. And I've added the Korg EMX too and I'm able to trigger signals from NL2 and EMX within PCR only. The only problem now is that I have to change the midi tracks from PT to have another midi channel triggered from PCR. If I only change the current midi channel from PCR, it still plays considering the settings from current midi track in PT.
Not sure what you mean here exactly. If you eliminate the Korg and keep things simple you wouldn't have this problem.


Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
Anyway, it seems that MIDIMATE is useless in a possible midi chain (?!?)
It shouldn't be. I would use it with the Korg!

Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
One more thing. If I want to record the change of the frequency parameter from NL2, I have to assign the function of that button to a button within PCR ?
Before you try that....just concentrate on recording knob turns on the Nord. It's got a knob for everything on it. Get the manual and in the back are the CC and NRPN #s.

Quote:
Originally Posted by milan cutlac View Post
Now the NL2 is last in the midi chain, it has the MIDI IN port linked to MIDI THRU port of the EMX. I could link MIDI OUT from NL2 to MIDI IN of the PCR, and maybe to try to record that frequency movement directly from NL2. But what if I want to record some filter changes from EMX .. ? What I do with its MIDI OUT port, cause the MIDI IN from PCR is occupied now.

So what is the natural approach in this ?
I would try getting that midimate working for the Korg. That's what I would do.
__________________
Apple Mac Pro 2.88 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core
16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
Ableton Live 10/Presonus Studio 3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clavia Nord Lead Digi_User. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-07-2009 01:22 PM
Pro Tools 8 and Nord Lead 2x reycantong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-18-2009 06:22 AM
Nord Lead and Digi 002 sricabla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-24-2005 05:42 AM
Nord Lead 2 and MIDI ra2012 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-25-2003 11:25 PM
Anyone get a Nord Lead 3 yet? Conscious Structure MIDI 0 03-10-2001 10:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com