Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2009, 11:54 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,129
Default Question for the experts about having PT7 and 8 on same computer

Hello guys...

I've got a Mac Pro 8-core running PT7.4.2 on Leopard off of my main system drive. Things are fine.

I'd like to also be able to offer PT8 to clients, and eventually I'll drop 7.4.2.

SO...here's the question.

It seems like I should make a separate partition and put 7.4.2 and 10.5.5 on it. Then, I should uninstall 7.4.2 off my main system drive and then install PT8 on my main system drive.

What do you guys think about this plan? And if you like it, what's the best way to get 7.4.2 and a working system on the new partition? Should I copy/clone my current system drive over or will that present problems? Should I start fresh, install a new system, install a fresh 7.4.2 and then copy all of my plugs over?

Not really sure how to do all of this, so please feel free to jump in here. Another option would be to get an external drive to hold 7.4.2 instead of partitioning an internal drive, as eventually, I'll probably have no need for 7.4.2 anymore.

thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:51 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Question for the experts about having PT7 and 8 on same computer

If I were you, I'd install these on separate drives, rather than partition your drive. We've had spurious reports of anomalies when doing this with partitions - not saying that you'll definitely have problems, but why take the chance? Especially given that drives are so cheap.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:32 AM
johnnyv johnnyv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 1,129
Default Re: Question for the experts about having PT7 and 8 on same computer

Can I do this on an external FW drive? Meaning, can I install Leopard and PT8 (or 7.4.2) on an external FW? Will PT work fine? Would it have to be FW800 or could it be FW400?

Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2009, 10:42 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Question for the experts about having PT7 and 8 on same computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyv View Post
Can I do this on an external FW drive? Meaning, can I install Leopard and PT8 (or 7.4.2) on an external FW? Will PT work fine? Would it have to be FW800 or could it be FW400?

Thanks...
I don't see why not, though an internal drive may be the better way to go if you have the option.

FW400 or 800 shouldn't matter.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2009, 04:45 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: Question for the experts about having PT7 and 8 on same computer

I installed leopard with PT8 on an external firewire 800 drive keeping my tiger with 7.4 on the internal.

Once 8.0 became the most used one, I swapped them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 06:05 PM
AD-DA question for the experts... VOstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-10-2008 06:32 PM
All protools/computer experts help Bushbabie21 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-11-2006 06:45 PM
A question for the computer experts Escape 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-01-2004 02:56 PM
Computer experts PLEASE HELP!!! bstaley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-18-2003 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com