Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2006, 02:27 PM
Herkimer Herkimer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA (Salem)
Posts: 407
Default QWERTY keyboard as MIDI keyboard?

I'd like to use my QWERTY keyboard to bang out BFD MIDI parts in real time. Is there a way to do this?
__________________
____________________________________
Home Build:
Core i7 920/Gigabyte EX58-UD3R/6Mb Ram
Mbox2/MboxMicro
ProTools 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2006, 05:45 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: QWERTY keyboard as MIDI keyboard?

I've never used it (never needed to, I've got plenty of MIDI controllers), but there is a freeware Virtual MIDI Controller that you might want to try.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:32 AM
Herkimer Herkimer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA (Salem)
Posts: 407
Default Re: QWERTY keyboard as MIDI keyboard?

I'll give it a shot tonight. Thanks for the lead.

BTW - I do have a controller but sometimes I just don't feel like hooking it all up - especially when I'm travelling or just noodling around on my laptop outside of the studio.

I'll let you know if I get it all working.
__________________
____________________________________
Home Build:
Core i7 920/Gigabyte EX58-UD3R/6Mb Ram
Mbox2/MboxMicro
ProTools 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2006, 07:39 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: QWERTY keyboard as MIDI keyboard?

Out of curiosity, I tried it; it doesn't work.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:13 PM
Herkimer Herkimer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Boston, MA (Salem)
Posts: 407
Default Re: QWERTY keyboard as MIDI keyboard?

Sorry I didn't reply sooner. Of all he crazy things, I suffered a pulmonary embolism while I was working in my studio. I'm in the hospital recovering now. No music of any sort for a couple days.

I did try the keyboard thing. I didn't get it working either. I think the problem is due to the QWERTY keyboard only triggering the active window in Windows. When you press record on PT, it becomes the active window and the QWERTY keyboard no longer activates the other window. I'll play some more when I get home from the hospital.
__________________
____________________________________
Home Build:
Core i7 920/Gigabyte EX58-UD3R/6Mb Ram
Mbox2/MboxMicro
ProTools 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:07 PM
Arks Arks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: QWERTY keyboard as MIDI keyboard?

You can do this in Fxpansion Guru. I don't know another drum program thats lets you.

Peace
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Control QWERTY Keyboard mixboy bob Artist Series 1 06-09-2013 04:33 AM
qwerty keyboard feature request tripstation Artist Series 3 01-24-2012 04:45 PM
QWERTY keyboard issue Mikey MTC ICON & C|24 3 03-20-2007 08:58 PM
QWERTY Keyboard Controller onlyone-jc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-03-2006 05:22 PM
keyboard AZERTY QWERTY blashol Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-11-2005 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com