Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2012, 08:02 AM
apples apples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 26
Default iMac 2011

Just got a iMac 21,5", 1 Tb HDD. It comes with Thunderbolt, firewire 800 and four USB 2.0. Since I know it´s not a good practice to have sessions to write/read in the same disk than OS, which should be the best way to have session files to work with? The firewire port is used by DIGI 003. Should I use an external USB 2.0 disk? It would be ok to work in a dedicated partition of the internal disk?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2012, 09:47 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: iMac 2011

You have a couple options, but the best way would be to get the $29 Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter and run a firewire drive from that for your audio.

Alternatively, you could just daisy chain the firewire drive with the 003 off the one port, but the adapter would be a better solution.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2012, 10:27 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,872
Default Re: iMac 2011

How about a Thunderbolt drive for sessions?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2012, 06:32 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: iMac 2011

They're very expensive right now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2012, 04:24 AM
apples apples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 26
Default Re: iMac 2011

I think the thunderbot to firewire is a great option! I'll do it that way.
Thunderbolt drives are still very expensive

Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2012, 06:56 PM
gkrueger gkrueger is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: LA,CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: iMac 2011

Ever since I had some firewire issues with some older, dodgy drives I started running sessions from the desktop of my iMac. I have had no problems for years. There's no harm in trying. (PT LE 8.0, digi 002, ancient iMac 2.8 Intel Duo, 2 gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 with Imac 2011? comp85 macOS 4 07-23-2013 01:56 AM
iMac 2011 and Later and SSDs Becharax General Discussion 5 06-27-2013 08:14 AM
iMac 2011 - i5 intel CPU YYR123 macOS 7 12-24-2012 04:40 AM
iMac 21.5 + 12 Gig RAM (Mid 2011) $1050 Shipped Rob Ruce Buy & Sell 0 07-13-2012 07:11 AM
iMac 2011 & Mbox2Pro groovesong macOS 1 09-23-2011 09:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com