Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2005, 06:58 PM
tntx1 tntx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 8
Default Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

I'm hoping somone out there can help me out. I'm getting different metering levels while recording and then while playing back. I running my guitar into input 3 on the 002, adjusting my gain to avoid clipping, running through Amplitube (American Lead3) and then watching to make sure I don't clip while recording. Then afterwards, during playback, the meter is registering much higher and clipping. In summary, the meter reads much lower during record than playback. Can I get a 1 to 1 relationship between record and playback?

Anyones input will be greatly appreciated.

I'm a new user who is coming along pretty well with a lot of the other aspects of ProTools, but seem to be missing something here.

Thanks,
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2005, 10:00 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

Is it possible you have the fader on the track raised above '0'?

Also keep in mind that plug-ins can add gain, which may also be a factor.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2005, 10:04 AM
BinkBonk BinkBonk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: HB, Ca
Posts: 161
Default Re: Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

I have the exact opposite experience.
When recording (most notably drums) I notice that the red clipping indicator will be engaged.
But, on playback, no tracks show clipping. ???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2005, 10:46 AM
edgarbc1 edgarbc1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 388
Default Re: Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

i would suggest getting
elemental audio inspector plug (free)
and put on master fader... watch masterf when
you record... its got peak and rms values.
__________________
17" MBP i7, 4GB RAM, Profire 2626, PT-MP 8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2005, 10:23 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

BinkBonk - it sounds like you are metering post fader and your fader is above '0'. Switch to pre-fader metering while recording to see the actual incoming level.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:37 PM
tntx1 tntx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 8
Default Re: Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

Thanks for the feedback. I think the plug-in is adding gain. As well, I tried recording the guitar riff without any plug-ins and then afterwards added in the Amplitube plug-in. Overall, the sound is much better probably because I was able to increase my gain during recording. I no longer have any clipping, except for one very short peak.

Over the phone, I had a digidesign tech tell me that if I add the plug-in to the track for recording, it permanently adds the plug-in effect to the recorded data. I always thought protools only recorded the raw input so you had the freedom to change the sound later, regardless of whether you had the plugs-ins turned on during record. I proved this last night when I bypassed the plugg-in on a track that was recorded with the plug-in turned on. I just heard raw guitar, no effects.

Eitherway, I think you can get the best result by recording with no plug-ins to maximize your bandwidth without clipping. Then add the plug-in for playback and future processing.

Any thoughts on all my BS? Thanks again for your previous feedback.

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:09 PM
BinkBonk BinkBonk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: HB, Ca
Posts: 161
Default Re: Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

Quote:
BinkBonk - it sounds like you are metering post fader and your fader is above '0'. Switch to pre-fader metering while recording to see the actual incoming level.
Makes sense, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:10 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Inut Gain and Record level vs Playback level

The support guy was wrong, effects ARE NOT recorded, unless you jump through some extra hoops to make it happen. (using an aux channel for the input and plugin, bussed to an audio track.)

And you can set your input levels correctly, even using plugins during tracking.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
input monitoring level and record level different Jason1 macOS 8 12-07-2014 10:06 AM
Record monitoring level different from Playback monitoring level. sonicflwr macOS 1 03-09-2012 10:05 AM
Record level and playback level Greg555 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-23-2009 06:15 PM
Recording level vs playback level.. DigiDudeski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-04-2009 05:00 AM
Q: copy record level to playback level? regis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-04-2000 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com