Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2007, 10:18 PM
torglenn torglenn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default Opinion of T.C. Helicon Harmony 4

Anyone have an opinion on this plug-in? (Harmony4) I can't seem to get anything on it other than info direct from T.C. Helicon -- The demos on their website are not clear enough to tell (at least not on my computer) -- Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2007, 01:15 AM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Opinion of T.C. Helicon Harmony 4

I use it a lot, one of my favourites, actually. I use it with my PowerCoreII-card and normally I use 2 instances to create 6 harmony parts. When you try it out, do so together with MD3 and increase the headroom of the MD3. Like all harmonypart-creators, hardware or software, it is very dependent of the voicematerial you are using, prefearable a voice with little formants.

http://www.tc-helicon.com/Default.asp?Id=9145

The demosong of Henry Olongo gives you a fair opinion of what it´s capable of.

It takes a bit of tweaking to get it natural [like change the bass-voice to be as close to your original voice as possible and falsetto insted of female voice if you are a mail - just some pointers that I have found to be true for me...]

The funfactor is REALLY high on this one...
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2007, 12:03 PM
torglenn torglenn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: Opinion of T.C. Helicon Harmony 4

Thanks for your response -- I'm surprised I haven't heard from more people -- Do you use so many harmony parts because this is exactly what you want to do OR do you need to do this to cover any artificaility? How does it sound when you use just one simple close harmony part? Would you say that the quality (once you've finished tweaking) is that good that no one would ever suspect that it was anything other than an additional human voice? I've listened to the demo on the web site but my computer speaker quality is not good enough to really tell for sure. (By the way, what is "MD3"?) Thanks again.
TG
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2007, 02:40 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Opinion of T.C. Helicon Harmony 4

Quote:
Do you use so many harmony parts because this is exactly what you want to do OR do you need to do this to cover any artificaility?
Yes, I want to, it acctually sounds better, when you use fewer parts...
Quote:
Would you say that the quality (once you've finished tweaking) is that good that no one would ever suspect that it was anything other than an additional human voice?
Real session singers are better - but before you have transported them, fed them and made them sing in pitch from the scores you have written, it has either cost you a lot of money or you have called in a bunch of favours... ;-). These guys doesn´t have to go home to take there girlfriend to the movie, they just sing on nomatter how late it is (or early).
Quote:
By the way, what is "MD3
MD3 is an overpriced, but extremely good limiter/compressor from the System 6000 ported in a stereo version to PowerCore. Use it with Harmony4 and increas the Headroom and it just sounds much better then Waves... You can actually get a Singers Unlimited feeling in your acapella takes.
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TC helicon nova delay? Avianer Tips & Tricks 0 03-08-2008 09:17 PM
Latency problem with TC-Helicon VoiceWorks? KiwiMuso Tips & Tricks 2 05-05-2006 12:42 PM
TC Helicon macr0w 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-12-2005 10:27 PM
need help on routing tc helicon quintet village1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-30-2005 06:58 PM
Anyone using TC Helicon Voiceprism ? stevegalante General Discussion 13 07-26-2001 05:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com