Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2024, 09:50 AM
fl0645 fl0645 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: fl0645
Posts: 13
Default No video Playback

Hello, i started with Pro Tools latest, i try 2 videos formats, the video appears in the time line but when i open the video display panel it's black, no video. Perhaps there is incompatibility with Radeon 6900XT ? or i have forget something ? Pro Tools has cpacity to play video in any format ? thanks to help me
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2024, 07:51 PM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,386
Default Re: No video Playback

You tried 2 different video formats? What were they?
Can’t do much more than guess without some system information.
https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050

Last edited by sw rec; 02-13-2024 at 09:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2024, 12:27 AM
fl0645 fl0645 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: fl0645
Posts: 13
Default Re: No video Playback

Hello, thank you for your feedback, I’m currently doing a Sandra test lite, I have Avid Media Composer, I have no problem with images and sounds with Media Composer, I export from AMC a Pro Tools file, keeping the original files that are DV files (720*576) and sound in 48 Khz, when I open the project in Pro Tools, there is no error message, and the video track is in place with the video thumbnails in the video track, on the other hand playing or scrolling, having activated the video monitor, I end up with a black screen, no video. I thought maybe the video was disabled in the preferences, but apparently not. Before I had Pro Tools "Simple" and now it’s Ultimate, I think it doesn’t change the problem. I tried to import in PT an MP4 file in 4K, and here it is the same: I have the pisgte video, the thumbnails in the video track, but the video screen does not display anything. I’ll send Sandra Lite’s results shortly. I have an Asrock Riptide motherboard, an AMD 5900XT processor, a graphics card: AMD RADEON 6900XT, for the sound I have a Zoom H6 that works in sound card and a cambridge 200M, in terms of sound there are no worries, it’s just the video playback that does not go. Thanks for your advice and help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2024, 06:04 AM
cvicente22's Avatar
cvicente22 cvicente22 is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Philippines
Posts: 413
Default Re: No video Playback

Hi fl0645 - I also created case 04757507 for you and coordinated it with our tech support team.
__________________
Regards,
Charles
________________
To create an Avid Support Case, you may go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-support/contact-audio-and-music-support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2024, 04:27 PM
fl0645 fl0645 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: fl0645
Posts: 13
Default Re: No video Playback

Hello, i try : deactivate the Graphic Card in cofniguration and instantly display the video, so Pro Tools don't work with the graphic driver and/or the Graphic Card AMD Radeon 6900XT... But in Avid Media Composer there is no error, no problem. Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2024, 05:29 AM
cvicente22's Avatar
cvicente22 cvicente22 is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Philippines
Posts: 413
Default Re: No video Playback

Hi fl0645,

Our tech support team replied to your case regarding "AMD CPU Systems are not tested and qualified for Pro Tools use.". For more info regarding this kindly check the email response from case 04757507.
__________________
Regards,
Charles
________________
To create an Avid Support Case, you may go to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-support/contact-audio-and-music-support
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-17-2024, 06:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,640
Default Re: No video Playback

What an awful response from Avid support. And I'm betting there is no feedback to development/product management if there is an issue here.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 02-17-2024 at 08:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools Video Black screen while playback with no noticiable avid video engine error luisaudio Pro Tools 9 03-18-2023 03:48 PM
No playback in video window - Video Window Remains black JJBG Pro Tools 2020 4 04-19-2020 06:50 PM
Playback, the video is dragging and mac's fan is agressive with video vmc.mariana Pro Tools 2019 4 08-23-2019 02:39 AM
Why use black magic devices to playback video instead of just playback in pro tools? Rockman413 Pro Tools 2018 3 12-25-2018 04:20 PM
No Video Playback (Black Video window and thumbs) winkelement Pro Tools 12 13 03-17-2016 11:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com