Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2022, 04:46 AM
Tekumseh Cru Tekumseh Cru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Prague
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools 8 LE with Mbox 2 on Monterey

Hello!
I brought this soundcard by Digidesign called mbox 2, alongside with Pro Tools 8 LE - full version, i brought this in second hand style from one man here in Prague, because i couldn't get a hold on external DVD mechanic until now, i just didn't tried to install it, until now, but the installation skips and installer says that is not compatibile with current OS ( i got latest version of Monterey updated, on Macbook Pro with Apple M1 chip) , so is there anyway how to run this software and the soundcard on this OS? Any Driver? Any Hint?

Thanks Dalibor
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2022, 06:26 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,326
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE with Mbox 2 on Monterey

Its very doubtful. Both the Mbox 2 and the software are too old for your computer and OS. Plus, many of the 8LE installer disks were bad. My best advise is to buy a subscription to the new Pro Tools Artist software and get a new Focusrite or Presonus interface with 1 or 2 mic inputs
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2022, 07:04 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,524
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE with Mbox 2 on Monterey

A quick google shows that the Mbox2 was introduced in 2005 (17 years ago!) and discontinued in 2010 (12 years ago). Additionally, Protools LE's end of life was the end of 2014. OSX (now macOS) has underwent multiple releases and updates in that period including eliminating support to 32-bit applications. In short, "No," it will not work and there is nothing that can be done to make it work. Sorry, but it seems like money wasted. As suggest above, you best option is to purchase a current version of Protools (subscription?) and an interface that fits your budget.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 13.6.6 running Protools 2024.3.1

Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 14.4.1 running Protools 2024.3.1

Last edited by Obsidian Dragon; 05-03-2022 at 07:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2022, 08:18 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 5,260
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE with Mbox 2 on Monterey

You might get the Mbox to work with the driver from Ploytec. I used it long time ago to extend the life of a Mbox1. They have a demo. Would be a small job to check if it works. But old PT software will never work on your new mac. You know there's a 30-day demo of PT - fully working.
I actually remember Ploytec to be a Czech company, but now it says Germany on their site.
__________________
Mac mini M2 16GB RAM macOS 13.4.1. PT Studio 2023.6.
Topping E30 II DAC, Dynaudio BM6, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, Control on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2022, 06:45 PM
wildschwein wildschwein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alkimos, Western Australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE with Mbox 2 on Monterey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekumseh Cru View Post
Hello!
I brought this soundcard by Digidesign called mbox 2, alongside with Pro Tools 8 LE - full version, i brought this in second hand style from one man here in Prague, because i couldn't get a hold on external DVD mechanic until now, i just didn't tried to install it, until now, but the installation skips and installer says that is not compatibile with current OS ( i got latest version of Monterey updated, on Macbook Pro with Apple M1 chip) , so is there anyway how to run this software and the soundcard on this OS? Any Driver? Any Hint?

Thanks Dalibor
I have the same combo from years ago although I have mainly moved onto to a Steinberg interface and Cubase. I lost my ability to run the PT LE 8 and Mbox2 combo on a Mac way back in 2014. I can report it still runs on Windows 10 though and has no issues at all on Win 7 which I used it on for a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2023, 02:01 PM
Dale-c Dale-c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 726
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE with Mbox 2 on Monterey

I know this is an old thread but I thought I would add, if you have an old Pro Tools system like this, you have two choices: Get a new version of Pro Tools, or get an old Mac or PC to run it on. You can easily find an old MacBook or iMac that will be able to run the old operating systems needed. And it can be very reliable. Otherwise, go for a newer system and Pro Tools Intro or Artist.

I don't know if the Mbox will work without drivers. I still have an old M-Audio USB interface that works fine without drivers but as for the old Pro Tools LE that would be free with that, no way it will work on anything past OS X Mavericks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Retro Monterey Icon Burbree Pro Tools 33 04-06-2023 01:52 PM
Anyone running Pro Tools on an M1 with Monterey? DEliker macOS 25 04-02-2022 11:44 AM
M1 Max MacBook Pro Monterey, Kontakt Crashing Pro Tools JJRivers Pro Tools 45 12-09-2021 06:33 AM
Has anyone tried Pro Tools 2021.7 on the Monterey Betas? off the wall macOS 28 11-17-2021 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com