Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2023, 06:00 AM
tamtamstudio tamtamstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 216
Default PT10 Mac with ilok cloud session, possible?

Hi all, I'm trying to use on an old Mac PT10, to recover some old session (with SD2 files).
I would like to open PT10 with my licences on ilok cloud session opened.
Unfortunately PT won't open, ask me for a regular ilok.
Is there a solution to try it?

Best regards,
Corrado
__________________
Corrado Magalotti
Tam Tam Recording studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2023, 06:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,893
Default Re: PT10 Mac with ilok cloud session, possible?

iLok cloud requires 2018.01 or later, so no
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2023, 07:14 AM
tamtamstudio tamtamstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 216
Default Re: PT10 Mac with ilok cloud session, possible?

I supposed that, but why is indicated it can be used?
probably the license can be moved but not used on PT10
see attachment
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2023-12-18 alle 16.10.40.png (41.3 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Corrado Magalotti
Tam Tam Recording studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2023, 07:26 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,893
Default Re: PT10 Mac with ilok cloud session, possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamtamstudio View Post
why is indicated it can be used?
It's a license bundle. You move it as is, not able to break apart.

Yes the bundle can reside in iLok cloud, but PT pre-2018.01 have no clue, need actual key.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2023, 07:46 AM
tamtamstudio tamtamstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 216
Default Re: PT10 Mac with ilok cloud session, possible?

Ok, clear. Thank you.
All .PTS needs PT10 to create .PTX, including SD2toWAV

BTW, what's the best version to make (SD2>WAV) session conversion from .PTF to .PTX?
I found that most of the session converted/or imported session from .PTF with 2023.9-12 will loose every clip, resulting a blank timeline, no clip in list.
Only insert-automation-routing, with no warning or else.
I would reopen (2003 session) of an old album release I did, but I'm really confused..
__________________
Corrado Magalotti
Tam Tam Recording studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-18-2023, 10:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,622
Default Re: PT10 Mac with ilok cloud session, possible?

see here: https://avidtech.my.salesforce-sites...0audio%20files.

The loss of SD2 audio with recent versions is expected behavior.

So on macOS the story is a bit better than Pro Tools 10 (although the only time I have converted SD2 files on Mac was PT-10).

Took a little while to find this, some related knowledge base links are broken, I’ll let Avid folks know once I am at a computer (not iPhone).

Since you have a Pro Tools 10 license were you able to try that and did you run into issues?…

Another option to convert SD2 files is Amadeus (https://www.hairersoft.com/index.html).

There are lots of past threads talking about SD2 conversions, some with really helpful tips. Google with the site:duc.avid.com qualifier.

And since it has come up recently, and likely burnt folks, be extremely careful of the handling of sessions containing SD2 files to avoid the loss of metadata stored in the file resource fork, e.g. don’t backup sessions to NTFS based storage, don’t use exFAT media to transfer sessions etc.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-18-2023 at 10:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2023, 01:18 AM
tamtamstudio tamtamstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 216
Default Re: PT10 Mac with ilok cloud session, possible?

In fact, the converted sessions I did a couple of years ago and was storage onto a NAS and it loose all data resources.
Now I'm refreshing from a DVD (2005) backup.
I left an old Mac with Sierra and PT10.3.x HD only for that cases.
I'll recover on a Mac drive and I will try to make a fresh PTX copy with .WAV files (hopefully).
thank you for support.
best regards
Corrado
__________________
Corrado Magalotti
Tam Tam Recording studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok Cloud session Problems bernstudios Pro Tools 11 02-05-2023 09:07 AM
iLok Cloud Session Activation Help taylor4814 Pro Tools 5 06-28-2021 07:30 AM
Cloud Session instead of physical iLok the hecksome Pro Tools 2020 14 06-26-2020 11:37 AM
iLok always opens cloud session PSCITR Pro Tools 2018 10 02-06-2019 12:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com