Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2021, 10:10 AM
ThomasRevell ThomasRevell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: kingston ontario
Posts: 10
Default Trying build my system and having troubles

Hi, my name is Tom and I have a problem with building a used system. I have a digidesign control 24 focusrite and i also have a Pro Tools HD 8x8x8. I am running a new computer with windows 10. I bought a HD Native pcie card and it does not work. I think the card is bad so I need to buy something that will make my system work. Does anyone have a suggestion on what card to buy. is it only the native HD pcie card that will work in a pc. Also, do these cards work in mac and pc's .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2021, 09:46 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,963
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

Not entirely understanding what you're having problems with here.

I'm pretty sure that support for the Control 24 has been long discontinued and won't work with either Windows 10 or your HD Native card. If Native card doesn't see the Control 24, then it won't work with the rest of the Protools system.

The HD Native cards work find with Windows in either PCIe or Thunderbolt format. You're going to need an interface, like and HD Omni, or MRTX Studio, or one of the Focusrite Red interfaces or any of several others that have mini Didgilink ports and support modern Protools systems.

The Control 24 is a boat anchor and has been for at least a decade now.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools vanilla 2021.7
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Catalina / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2021.7, DAPS, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre / DVS
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2021, 07:25 AM
ThomasRevell ThomasRevell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: kingston ontario
Posts: 10
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

I spoke with AVID and they said that V PRO software will allow pro tools to work again on the control 24.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2021, 08:29 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

Yes, V-Pro will "probably" get the Control 24 to function as a HUI controller, but you have left out other equally important info; the Pro Tools software. For Windows 10, you need a fairly recent version of Pro Tools HD software, or Pro Tools Ultimate software(regular Pro Tools will not work with the HD/Native card). When Pro Tools software reaches version 12.6, it then requires a separate DigiLink license(because the HDN card connects to interfaces via DigiLink connection).

So, what Pro Tools software do you have?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2021, 07:14 AM
ThomasRevell ThomasRevell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: kingston ontario
Posts: 10
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

Thanks for the reply. I have a copy of pro tools 11 that a friend gave me and i'm going to buy support from AVID on a monthly basis.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2021, 07:15 AM
ThomasRevell ThomasRevell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: kingston ontario
Posts: 10
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

if I buy a monthly subscription to pro tools will it cause me to go to the latest version of pro tools or can I run whichever version and pay?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2021, 07:43 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,159
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasRevell View Post
if I buy a monthly subscription to pro tools will it cause me to go to the latest version of pro tools or can I run whichever version and pay?
Yes, subscriptions are always for the latest versions. The Pro Tools 11 that your friend gave you, you didn't mention whether that was HD or not(if its not HD, then it won't work with the card at all). If you are going with a new subscription, you need Ultimate and you need the separate Digilink license(this is a one-time purchase).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2021, 05:52 PM
ThomasRevell ThomasRevell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: kingston ontario
Posts: 10
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

hey folks,

I now have purchased the following.

digidesign control 24 focusrite
Avid HD 8x8x8 i/o
Avid Pro Tools HDX PCIe Core Card
A new pc with 32gb Ram solid state hardrive.
studio speakers
I think i've made wise choices in my hardware choice pending i bought the right conponents.

I find it a bit confusing as i'm not new to computer and teching but the hardware.




Do I now have the hardware to run Pro Tools ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2021, 05:59 PM
ThomasRevell ThomasRevell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: kingston ontario
Posts: 10
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

I also purchased a licence to V Pro control

and a ilok cloud. I've loaded pro tools 11 on my windows program.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2021, 08:25 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,588
Default Re: Trying build my system and having troubles

It’s been asked in this thread already, but you ignored the question. Do you have a license for Pro Tools 11, or Pro Tools 11 HD? If you don’t have the HD license, you cannot use the HD hardware. Check the license in your iLok account to determine if you have the HD version.

Pro Tools 11 was never qualified for or made compatible with Windows 10. Maybe it’ll run, maybe it won’t. More than likely you will have issues with it.

If you decide to subscribe to or buy a license for the current version of Pro Tools HD (Ultimate), you will also need to obtain a Digilink iLok license to use the HD hardware with it.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Run pro tools on my system or build dedicated desktop system? dylanmitchell Getting Started 1 04-23-2021 12:12 PM
New PT 12 System Build for use with QU-24 Yohan Pro Tools 12 3 02-23-2016 09:37 PM
Help me build a new system Fireball71 Windows 5 09-11-2015 09:37 PM
System setup troubles... mixboy bob Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-11-2010 06:49 PM
System Admin troubles marty martin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-01-2005 02:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com