Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2012, 11:20 AM
t.spaceman t.spaceman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools and Orchestral Sample Librarys

Hi,

I am new to the forum. I am thinking of purchasing an orchestral sample library to run with Pro Tools 10.

I was wondering if anyone had any experience running East West QLSO Platinum Plus specifically whether the Play platform integrates smoothly with PT10.

The other library I am considering is the VSL Special Edition, I am fairly sure this will run well but I have a nagging feeling that QLSO will suit my needs better if it plays nicely.

Any advice would be gratefully recieved

Many thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2012, 11:34 AM
postofficer postofficer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 19
Default Re: Pro Tools and Orchestral Sample Librarys

hello dr spaceman, I have been using EWQLSO for a few years now and I have to say there's a bit of good and bad. I've found the sound quality to be astounding, and the performance to be hit and miss.

there were a few sessions that I had running with ten or so instances of the plug with multiple sounds being triggered simultaneously by most of them.

there was the occasional stutter, but mostly it worked for me well, and if the system got too bogged down I would bounce a few to audio tracks to lighten the load and there weren't any problems.

then I had a few sessions where I had about three or four instances running and there would be huge amounts of lag and sometimes full out crashes. there were also times when I was processing something in the background and tried to change the sound the Play engine was using at the same time and that caused a crash.

overall, I would still recommend it, as these problems are fairly easy to work around, but you will sometimes have sessions where the plug doesn't want to cooperate with you. just remember that it's moving a huge amount of data, and it's not likely to be as quick to respond as an EQ3 plug.

for reference, my system is a Mac Pro 2.93 Quad Core with 16 GB Ram, and the EWQLSO library was installed on it's own drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2012, 12:52 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,461
Default Re: Pro Tools and Orchestral Sample Librarys

Regardless of which sample library you get, get VE pro, or a similar external program to host your VI's outside of pro tools. Until we see a 64 bit pro tools, this is pretty much a requirement for any kind of serious orchestral midi programming.

I think the Eastwest PLAY engine does have a memory server that will allow it to load more than 4GB of samples, but it's not as efficient as hosting it in a separate 64 bit program.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE 8 Orchestral Samples = EWQL? CineMats Virtual Instruments 6 08-22-2010 05:43 PM
Atmos librarys garret Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-17-2005 03:30 AM
Orchestral Emulation not possible in Pro Tools?! dubaifox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 30 05-17-2005 06:44 AM
Best orchestral sample library for 2002/2003? rtcstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 23 11-19-2002 01:09 PM
notation / orchestral sample-cd goeperd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-03-2000 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com