Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:36 PM
Equality 7-2521 Equality 7-2521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 191
Default Dell Inspiron 6400

Hi there

Just wondering if there is anyone here who owns oneof these. I am looking at getting one but noticed it is not a supported laptop on the Digi Compatibility page. How well does it work with PT?

Thanks
__________________
PT LE 7 & MBox
Windows XP SP2
P4 3.0GHz CPU, Intel 865/PE/P Chipset
1GB RAM
2 X Seagate Barracuda 80GB HDD
Novation Remote SL MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2006, 06:36 AM
Equality 7-2521 Equality 7-2521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 191
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

bump
__________________
PT LE 7 & MBox
Windows XP SP2
P4 3.0GHz CPU, Intel 865/PE/P Chipset
1GB RAM
2 X Seagate Barracuda 80GB HDD
Novation Remote SL MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2006, 05:08 AM
Equality 7-2521 Equality 7-2521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 191
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

Even if anyone could give an estimate as to how well PT would run on this laptop would be good.
__________________
PT LE 7 & MBox
Windows XP SP2
P4 3.0GHz CPU, Intel 865/PE/P Chipset
1GB RAM
2 X Seagate Barracuda 80GB HDD
Novation Remote SL MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-10-2006, 03:38 AM
Equality 7-2521 Equality 7-2521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 191
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

anyone?
__________________
PT LE 7 & MBox
Windows XP SP2
P4 3.0GHz CPU, Intel 865/PE/P Chipset
1GB RAM
2 X Seagate Barracuda 80GB HDD
Novation Remote SL MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:18 AM
Equality 7-2521 Equality 7-2521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 191
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

surely one of the experts here can give me some info on this?
__________________
PT LE 7 & MBox
Windows XP SP2
P4 3.0GHz CPU, Intel 865/PE/P Chipset
1GB RAM
2 X Seagate Barracuda 80GB HDD
Novation Remote SL MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2006, 07:59 PM
Equality 7-2521 Equality 7-2521 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 191
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400 Compatible w/ PT LE?

Somebody PLEEEEEASE help!
__________________
PT LE 7 & MBox
Windows XP SP2
P4 3.0GHz CPU, Intel 865/PE/P Chipset
1GB RAM
2 X Seagate Barracuda 80GB HDD
Novation Remote SL MIDI Controller
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2006, 06:17 PM
producertravis producertravis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

bump--anyone have any ideas, i am wondering as well
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2006, 08:25 PM
mrtunes mrtunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 128
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

whole lotta bumping going on!

i think no one's responding cause there's a really messy and unorganized thread called the Best Laptops for PT Le where everyone posts about these models, but I really can't be bothered swimming through that swamp of info(and i assume many other people stay away from there too).

I have a 6400, with PT 7.1 intalled the program is unusable. There were some workarounds in the best laptops thread suggseted to me but i didnt want to tamper with my laptop. i'm sure many people are running pt on it but i'm not. the one thing i haven't tried yet out of sheer laziness is running 6.9 on it, which is a version from the pre-dual core days. i bet that would work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2006, 10:41 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

Or, it could be that there aren't that many Dell Inspiron 6400 users here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2006, 05:36 AM
Smoove Smoove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default Re: Dell Inspiron 6400

well, i got a dell inspiron 6400 running with pro tools 6.9
and guess what....
it doesn't work at all....
i constantly get buffer size errors, though i have gone through all steps of the troubleshooting guide and even turned one cpu core off in the bios....

digi can't help....
maybe anyone else can, please let me know...
I'm wondering if i sell my dell oder sell my digidesign...but i guess i will sell my digidesign cause inspiron 6400 is a great laptop and doens't conflict with any software except pro tools...

alex
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inspiron 6400 mcguffin00 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 06-21-2007 11:49 AM
Is an Inspiron 6400 compatible with an Mbox2 staffo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-05-2006 10:37 PM
Ordered Inspiron 6400 last night producertravis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-26-2006 08:30 PM
DAE ERROR 1115 on Dell Inspiron 6400 Cisco_kid81 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-22-2006 07:33 PM
Dell Inspiron 6400 and Mbox2 themindlab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-05-2006 07:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com