Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2005, 07:15 PM
Dave Gordon Dave Gordon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not drunk

hi all,

Is it normal for the second monitor (plugged into a DVI adapter) to have a slightly blurred picture, expecially for text?

I have the ATI RADEON 9200SE 128MB DDR 8X AGP DVI+CRT+TV. Text is definetely not as clear as the primary monitor, which has a crystal clear picture. They are both the same brand new sony monitors (17"LCD SDM-S73).

Could this be a driver issue? An installation issue?.......or just the way it is with dual monitors?

Thanks,

Dave
__________________
=================================
002 Rack
AMD Athlon 64 3200+
2x512MB memory
2X 120G WD

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2005, 07:31 PM
Dogcode Dogcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sechelt, B.C. Canada
Posts: 961
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not drunk

I have`nt had that problem with my system. Have you checked the settings for the second display?
__________________
PT 9
Control 24
003 Rack
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad
Adam A7
Waves Gold, VSeries
Pultec Bundle
URS, McDSP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:08 PM
keithl keithl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 526
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not drunk

hmmmm...now that you mention it, I also have a blurred 2nd monitor.
and I also have a Radeon....I will have to check out the settings.

Just always thought my new 1st monitor kicked that much more arse!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:13 PM
SimpleNatureSpirit SimpleNatureSpirit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 876
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not drunk

Make sure the monitor is set to it's native resolution.
__________________
Share the gift gifted to you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2005, 08:25 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not dru

My 9200SE functions similarly, but mine is a little different; I'm not using the DVI adapter. I have it hooked to two Dell 1900fp LCDs which have both analog and digital connections. One is hooked up digitally, and one via analog. The straight digital connection is much clearer than the analog. It doesn't bug me that much, but I have plans to upgrade to the Matrox dual dvi soon, hopefully solving my problem.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:59 PM
Screamer Screamer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not drunk

For those of you with DVI, check this out. It's a Clear Type Power Toy, and it really clears up the text. Also, be advise that some Dell LCDs are BGR and not RGB which can also affect clarity. This power toy can address that too.

Microsoft Typography Page

FYI, I'm running an ATi Radeon 9800XT with dual Dell 18" 1801-FPs....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:34 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not drunk

It also could be a good idea to click the "auto" button on the monitor to get it properly alligned or something like that...
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2005, 04:46 AM
keithl keithl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 526
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not drunk

I am running with the DVI adapter...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:54 AM
daustin777 daustin777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 169
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not dru

Are you using the same cable going to each monitor? Cables make a big difference with monitors.
__________________
David Austin
p4 3ghz, PT 6.4, XP, Digi002r, AMT8, Mackie Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2005, 07:25 AM
Eddie D Eddie D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 280
Default Re: dual monitors - blurry screen and i\'m not dru

^5's fellas,


9200se here also,,, running dual monitors and 1 of mine is not blurry, but not as bright. There is a slightly different shade of coloring, white backgrounds have a milky color on one and on the other monitor its so much brighter, cleaner. (analog vs digital I would assume) before reading this I figured I had a bum monitor or QC was not so good. (2 dell 1901fp 19" lcd's) Its not too noticable, most people are just surprised because your running dual 19 lcd's. Again here its not a big enough deal to really worry about unless it gets worse.

Eddie
__________________
Who Ever said this would be Easy!!!
www.myspace.com/sightthrusound
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wide screen monitors & pro tools? 540s 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-05-2007 03:44 PM
Got a little drunk, thought I try recording some cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-17-2006 01:45 PM
Anybody using plasma televsion screen for monitors losttimestudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-06-2005 07:58 AM
O.T. Anyone using touch screen LCD monitors 4 PT? mac goD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-14-2005 01:03 PM
Two DVI/flat screen monitors nz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-03-2001 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com