Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2002, 05:06 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default 96k plug ins sound better?

Well?

They must surely contribute to the final sound quality..

Will sound run in & out of them 'better' in PTHD?

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2002, 05:32 PM
Digital Sound Lab Digital Sound Lab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Seattle, WA. 98118
Posts: 387
Default Re: 96k plug ins sound better?

Well, Jules, I'm on my way to HD (ordered it today) and I'll let you know after I upgrade all the BA$TARD$ to 96k.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2002, 06:25 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: 96k plug ins sound better?

Youv'e got b^lls my friend!

I wish you the best of luck with all that great new stuff.

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Hats off to the pioneers!

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2002, 09:45 AM
meltedmediamusic meltedmediamusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Toluca Lake, Ca. 91602
Posts: 26
Default Re: 96k plug ins sound better?

Hey Jules,
Colin from McDSP thought their plugs sounded better at the higher sample rates. Since they wrote their code for higher sample rates from the outset, they offer a free upgrade to HD land. Since they really have nothing to gain with the upgrade, I would think his sound quality opinion to be unbiased,however he said he really hasn't spent a great deal of time with the new hardware yet.

I wish someone that had HD access would just take an old 44.1 or 48k session and remix it on the new system and tell me if it sounds any better than the old mixer. It strikes me oddly that this is what everyone wants to know, yet Digi seems to be skirting this "mixer sound" issue with their marketing strategy. Even my dogs can figure out that the new boxes will be better sounding than an 888/24, but for us Apogee users, this is an irrelevent topic.

I'll be heading back to Namm again over the weekend and see if any other buzz has emerged.

Please let the internal mixing be an improvment and make want to keep my Pro Control (a prayer for the dieing).
[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Take Care All
Kenny Meriedeth
Melted Media Music
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does TDM plug-ins sound better than RTAS vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 40 09-17-2013 01:44 AM
Sound-design plug-ins 24bit dither Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 09-07-2005 03:57 AM
How cut camera sound with PT Plug-In kwarkot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-26-2004 07:25 PM
Sound On Sound Magazine reccomend these plug-ins Antonio Tarantino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-03-2003 12:29 AM
no sound in plug in previews WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 05-02-2002 02:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com