Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2003, 11:14 PM
muzak13 muzak13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 175
Default 6.0.1 crashing

I am a new ProTools user and have just updated to 6.0.1 and am crashing after approximately 5-15 minutes of use. Just enough time to get a taste for ProTools and not long enough to grasp it's flavor...

Dual 867
1.5 Gig RAM
120 Gig Audio Drive
System 10.2.5
17" Studio Display

I just tried running 5.2 under OS9 and it seems to be just fine. Does anyone have any configuration tips for me?
Thanks
__________________
MacBook Pro DuoCore 17" 2.16Ghz • OSX 10.4.9 •*2Gb RAM • MBox 2 Pro • ProTools 7.3.1cs3 • FW 800 w/ Express Card
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2003, 12:05 AM
ryan_hyy ryan_hyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Taipei, Taiwan R.O.C.
Posts: 52
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

if you have 6.0 install disc, use it to reinstall Pro Tools, erase the 6.0.1 and uninstall the core audio, make sure that your OS is OS 10.2.3, they are the most stable together! ^^
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2003, 09:04 AM
muzak13 muzak13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 175
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

thanks ryan -
I'll give it a try. I wouldn't mind running under OS9 for now except it makes my computer so much louder,,,
__________________
MacBook Pro DuoCore 17" 2.16Ghz • OSX 10.4.9 •*2Gb RAM • MBox 2 Pro • ProTools 7.3.1cs3 • FW 800 w/ Express Card
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2003, 09:06 AM
Muxlow Muxlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 217
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

One thing that I haven't seen anyone else mention is one of the best things about OS X: Imagine if you were crashing this much in OS 9. At least in OS X, a crash is no big deal if you save often, but in 9, you'd be restarting every time. Just one of the many reasons OS X is such a huge improvement.

Let's hope Digi gets this release smoothed out, but at least in the meantime we're not restarting every time PT craps out.
__________________
Mac G4 Dual 533
1.5g Ram
OS 10.2.8
Reason 2.5
ProTools LE 6.1
Digi001
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2003, 10:12 AM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

Quote:
if you have 6.0 install disc, use it to reinstall Pro Tools, erase the 6.0.1 and uninstall the core audio, make sure that your OS is OS 10.2.3, they are the most stable together! ^^
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Absolutely the BEST advice I've seen here in days...!

Definitely go back to OS10.2.3 for best stability. OS10.2.3 + PTLE 6.0 + no Core Audio Drivers = VERY STABLE & no midi issues at all...

That's if you need to get some real work done and your not beta testing 6.0.1 and the Core Audio Drivers at the moment.

dk
__________________
www.dpksound.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2003, 04:59 PM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

Quote:
When I try to load a song I've been working on, ProTools tells me that the disk allocation is in error, then when I point it to the audio files (on a 120Gb Maxtor), it tells me that the volume is not an audio playback volume. I copied the files to my data partition on the master drive and it tells me the same thing.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Check in the workspace window in PT6 (under the Windows Menu). Just to the right of the HD icon(s), there are pop-ups under the columns marked A(audio) and V(video) displaying a "T", "R" or a "P".
Click and change it to an "R" (record) for your audio hard drive(s).
__________________
www.dpksound.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2003, 12:22 AM
muzak13 muzak13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 175
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

OK. Now I'm back to 10.2.3 and ProTools 6.0. When I try to load a song I've been working on, ProTools tells me that the disk allocation is in error, then when I point it to the audio files (on a 120Gb Maxtor), it tells me that the volume is not an audio playback volume. I copied the files to my data partition on the master drive and it tells me the same thing.
A little frustrated this Easter Sunday but I'll chalk it up to user error....
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
__________________
MacBook Pro DuoCore 17" 2.16Ghz • OSX 10.4.9 •*2Gb RAM • MBox 2 Pro • ProTools 7.3.1cs3 • FW 800 w/ Express Card
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2003, 12:42 AM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 967
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

Running Jaguar Cache Cleaner solved my unexpected quit problems. JCC is only 8 bucks and you can find it at versiontracker.com. There is also a free cache cleaner out there but can't remember the name. Do a search on versiontracker.

hth
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2003, 07:03 PM
muzak13 muzak13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 175
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

dkrz -Thanks for the reply.
When i do this, it is set to T and when I try to change it to R, it tells me that my hard drive is not a valid audio playback volume. This is also true of the two partitions that I have on my master drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated...
THANKS
__________________
MacBook Pro DuoCore 17" 2.16Ghz • OSX 10.4.9 •*2Gb RAM • MBox 2 Pro • ProTools 7.3.1cs3 • FW 800 w/ Express Card
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2003, 07:21 PM
muzak13 muzak13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 175
Default Re: 6.0.1 crashing

Well, I did a search in the Answerbase and there are instances of this occurring. It recommends uninstalling and then reinstalling 6.0 or upgrading to 10.2.4. I did the former and my audio drive is now being recognized as valid. It seems like it is stable right now (I'm running Explorer and Entourage on top of it, before if I sneezed it would crash) so off we go...
__________________
MacBook Pro DuoCore 17" 2.16Ghz • OSX 10.4.9 •*2Gb RAM • MBox 2 Pro • ProTools 7.3.1cs3 • FW 800 w/ Express Card
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8.0.5 crashing barra 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-24-2011 05:20 PM
8.0.3 keeps crashing davidreidlive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-18-2010 02:47 AM
8.03 keeps crashing- HELP ! barlevy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-23-2009 11:48 AM
M Box - G4 ...Just keeps crashing and crashing... nessein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-11-2003 09:59 PM
>> HD3 crashing OS9 Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-25-2003 04:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com