Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2012, 10:21 AM
clintusmaximus clintusmaximus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 15
Default constant CPU error overload!!!

"A CPU overload error occurred. Try increasing the H/W Buffer Size or removing plug ins"
I started with
buffer size 256
host processors 3
CPU usage limit 75%
ignore error (unchecked)
delay comp: short

DAE playback
size: level 4
cache large
im running pro tools 9 on Mac Pro
2x2 Dual Core Xeons
12gigs mem

I have seen people run pro tools on laptops that weren't as powerful as my mac pro but it wont run for [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]. Im pulling my hair out! I have watched the avid optimization videos and playback engine tutorials trying to find some magic composition and nothing seems to work. I have no idea where to go from here
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2012, 04:17 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,677
Default Re: constant CPU error overload!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by clintusmaximus View Post
"A CPU overload error occurred. Try increasing the H/W Buffer Size or removing plug ins"
I started with
buffer size 256
host processors 3
CPU usage limit 75%
ignore error (unchecked)
delay comp: short

DAE playback
size: level 4
cache large
im running pro tools 9 on Mac Pro
2x2 Dual Core Xeons
12gigs mem

I have seen people run pro tools on laptops that weren't as powerful as my mac pro but it wont run for [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]. Im pulling my hair out! I have watched the avid optimization videos and playback engine tutorials trying to find some magic composition and nothing seems to work. I have no idea where to go from here

Hi,

Which RTAS plugins are in the session?


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buffer overload -6085 error constant mikesasa75 Pro Tools 10 11 02-22-2013 05:58 PM
Constant CPU Overload and DAE 35 Error AlissaAudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-20-2012 03:49 PM
constant CPU Overload and cannot play nor record franklebel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-15-2010 02:37 AM
Constant CPU overload errors!!! maxxdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-09-2010 10:27 PM
Constant CPU Overload!!! Really annoying!! Help!! listenhard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-12-2009 03:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com