Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2012, 03:30 PM
AlissaAudio AlissaAudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1
Exclamation Constant CPU Overload and DAE 35 Error

Hello All,

Two weeks ago the most catastrophic event occurred. I tripped over my mic cord and almost knocked my mbox and MacBook to the hard linoleum floor in my apartment. This really doesn't sound like much. The worst thing that happened was the USB cable ripped out of the laptop and my Mbox Mini was dangling by it's audio cables over my desk. I thought that everything would be fine and that I would just need to go back to one of the backup audio files since I hadn't saved what I had been working on. I WAS DEAD WRONG. Now after two years of fun with Pro Tools, I am encountering problem after problem. The errors specifically revolve around the track that I had been working on when I ripped the cord out, but some of my other sessions are effected as well. The song will play/record up to about 2:28, then every time without fail, I get a CPU overload message. I have 4 GBs of RAM and have tweaked with the playback settings trying to fix this to no avail. After that, if I try to start playing the track again in the edit window, it just tells me that there is a DAE 35 error and will do nothing. I have also had to relink many of the audio files, but this hasn't fixed the problem. I began to think that I had just corrupted this entire file, so I started over with the base PT file from a CD that my co-writer gave me. This session also has the errors and now I am at an entire loss. Please help me. I will list all of my system info below. I just want to finish recording this song because I love it.

MacBook OSX 10.6.8 (snow leopard is oldschool, I know)
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 (whatever it is with that update)
Mbox Mini
RAM: 4GB
Processor: 2.53 GHz Intel Core i5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2012, 03:49 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,397
Default Re: Constant CPU Overload and DAE 35 Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlissaAudio View Post
Hello All,

Two weeks ago the most catastrophic event occurred. I tripped over my mic cord and almost knocked my mbox and MacBook to the hard linoleum floor in my apartment. This really doesn't sound like much. The worst thing that happened was the USB cable ripped out of the laptop and my Mbox Mini was dangling by it's audio cables over my desk. I thought that everything would be fine and that I would just need to go back to one of the backup audio files since I hadn't saved what I had been working on. I WAS DEAD WRONG. Now after two years of fun with Pro Tools, I am encountering problem after problem. The errors specifically revolve around the track that I had been working on when I ripped the cord out, but some of my other sessions are effected as well. The song will play/record up to about 2:28, then every time without fail, I get a CPU overload message. I have 4 GBs of RAM and have tweaked with the playback settings trying to fix this to no avail. After that, if I try to start playing the track again in the edit window, it just tells me that there is a DAE 35 error and will do nothing. I have also had to relink many of the audio files, but this hasn't fixed the problem. I began to think that I had just corrupted this entire file, so I started over with the base PT file from a CD that my co-writer gave me. This session also has the errors and now I am at an entire loss. Please help me. I will list all of my system info below. I just want to finish recording this song because I love it.

MacBook OSX 10.6.8 (snow leopard is oldschool, I know)
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 (whatever it is with that update)
Mbox Mini
RAM: 4GB
Processor: 2.53 GHz Intel Core i5
If its the session that is damaged I would try the standard trick of create a new session and use File>Import Session Data to move over content from the old session.

Do other sessions work OK, does a totally new session work OK?

Also do a verify disk permission and a verify filesystems scan.

if that does not work run down the whole list of standard troubleshooting steps including trashing pref files etc. See the "Help us help you..." link above.

Even if it does not seem like it is a problem I would also consider trying to exclude any hardware problem, especially try a different USB cable and a different USB port on the computer.

What happens if you select built-in output as the playback engine?

Darryl
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buffer overload -6085 error constant mikesasa75 Pro Tools 10 11 02-22-2013 05:58 PM
constant CPU error overload!!! clintusmaximus macOS 1 12-06-2012 04:17 PM
constant CPU Overload and cannot play nor record franklebel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-15-2010 02:37 AM
Constant CPU overload errors!!! maxxdog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-09-2010 10:27 PM
Constant CPU Overload!!! Really annoying!! Help!! listenhard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-12-2009 03:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com