Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2006, 11:51 AM
cyrus222 cyrus222 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default Formatting an audio drive in a new imac g5

Hi, all,

Sorry for another newbie question. I'm getting ready to install ProTools LE 7 (Mbox2) on my new G5. Before intalling the software, the manual suggests formatting the audio drive for optimal performance. After I launch disk utility in my Apps the manual suggests "select the drive you want to initialize." First question (albiet stupid question)..my options are the 465 GB Hitachi HDs72.. or the MacHD..Neither option allows me to type a name for the new volume. In fact I can't erase anything in the Hitachi and in the MacHD I have an option to erase free space, but again can't type a name. So, are these instructions NOT for new macs? Thanks in advasnce.

C
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2006, 03:00 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: Formatting an audio drive in a new imac g5

It's not letting you format your drive because it contains the operating system. You need to record to an external drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2006, 04:29 PM
cyrus222 cyrus222 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Formatting an audio drive in a new imac g5

Thanks for the info. Do you have any suggestions re: external drives? I've been to the compatibilty link, but thought to ask users. Thanks again!

C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2006, 05:48 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Formatting an audio drive in a new imac g5

I have an iMac G5 and and 2 Maxtor external firewire drives and they are excellent. I use them with apps like final cut pro as well as Pro Tools. It's very important that if you go for an external firewire drive that it contains the Oxford 911 chipset for FW400 & Oxford 924 chipset for FW800. If the drive doesnt have these chipsets in you will seriously lose out on performance.

Regards
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2006, 01:11 PM
cyrus222 cyrus222 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Formatting an audio drive in a new imac g5

Hi, Dougfather,

Can you let me know which specific Maxtor model (S) you're using. I've found several online which all use Oxford 912 chipsets..Don't know if that's an issue.

Thanks,

C
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-27-2006, 01:24 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Formatting an audio drive in a new imac g5

The drives i have are called Maxtor One Touch, and they are the firewire only drives. The new Maxtor drives are USB/Firewire, i'm sure i read on the Maxtor website that the USB/firewire models are 911 equipped, best to download the spec sheets to be safe. The drives i have look the same but are the older model and they are silver & blue. I'm not familiar with the 912 chipset but make sure you do your homework before you dive in, when i first switched to Macs i had an Icy Box caddy with a 3.5" hard drive, not sure what the chipset was but the performance was shocking, it used to transfer at around half the speed of the 911's.

Regards
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2006, 03:01 PM
guiltypartymusic guiltypartymusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: ableton live recording midi tracks

Hi i am a newbe to midi I am trying to record midi from live I believe rewire has configred correctly . I can record audio thru bussing and my kontak comes up on my midi tracks but the live soft ware does not show up on my pt midi channel output.
Any help would be appreciated.
thanks
john
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-28-2006, 12:44 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: ableton live recording midi tracks

To record live in Pro Tools, you need to create a stereo aux input track and a midi track. You select live as an insert on the aux input, once you have done this when you go to your midi track and Live will appear as an output. Its a little confusing at first doing this but after while its second nature. To record Live as an audio waveform track in Pro Tools, you create an aux send to a bus from the aux track, then create an audio track and select the input of the audio track as the bus, voila...CPU stress-less audio.

Regards
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot change drive to audio volume even after formatting boboc2 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 03-19-2007 01:54 PM
formatting an audio drive joshuah777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-27-2005 06:48 PM
HELP... Audio Drive formatting problem Bug0711 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-13-2003 08:40 PM
Need help formatting dedicated audio drive MadeByNick 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 03-06-2003 12:15 AM
A general question on audio drive formatting tld Tips & Tricks 3 08-04-2000 11:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com