Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2002, 04:43 AM
Camilo Orozco's Avatar
Camilo Orozco Camilo Orozco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Toluca, Mexico
Posts: 969
Default Off Topic.. How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32...

Hello ProToolers,
I am moving from NT to Win98 and need to change the FAT from my C: drive.
I already used fdisk, delete the partition and created a new partition (a single partition for the whole HD), then using the floppy that came with Win98 format the drive, but when using fdisk again to check what type of partition has been formated still get the FAT16?!?!?!?
[img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
Please help me with this nightmare, I already spend 5 hours !!!

Thank you in advance.
__________________
Camilo Orozco
Like us on www.facebook.com/artedigitalestudio
www.estudiodegrabacion.com.mx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2002, 05:06 AM
mlemos mlemos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: new york
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: Off Topic.. How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32...

Camilo,

If you are using a Win98 floppy, the first thing that you should see when you run the fdisk command is:

Your computer has a disk larger than 512 MB. This version of Windows includes improved support for large disks, resulting in more efficient use of disk space on large drives, and allowing disks over 2 GB to be formatted as a single drive.

What it's really asking you is, do you want to format with FAT or FAT32?
You have to make sure that you reply with 'Y'. If you were to hit the escape key at this screen it would be the same as saying no to FAT32.

So, did you get this screen when you ran FDISK and did you enter 'Y' for FAT32?

Marc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2002, 05:20 AM
Camilo Orozco's Avatar
Camilo Orozco Camilo Orozco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Toluca, Mexico
Posts: 969
Default Re: Off Topic.. How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32...

Hello Marc,
Thank you for your response. Yes, every time I format the drive I reply YES to that question...
__________________
Camilo Orozco
Like us on www.facebook.com/artedigitalestudio
www.estudiodegrabacion.com.mx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2002, 05:24 AM
Keith Lowdon Keith Lowdon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North of the south pole
Posts: 221
Default Re: Off Topic.. How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32...

Go to accessories/system tools/drive convertor (fat 32) and it will do it for you if you already have 16.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2002, 05:31 AM
Camilo Orozco's Avatar
Camilo Orozco Camilo Orozco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Toluca, Mexico
Posts: 969
Default Re: Off Topic.. How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32...

Hello Keith,
I cannot go to the drive convertor because there is no OS installed in the disk. I already delete the partition and format the drive (with no luck)
__________________
Camilo Orozco
Like us on www.facebook.com/artedigitalestudio
www.estudiodegrabacion.com.mx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2002, 05:36 AM
mlemos mlemos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: new york
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: Off Topic.. How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32...

Camilo,

In that case you may want to run the following command before running fdisk:
FDISK /MBR

This will re-write the master boot record.
Then run fdisk and delete all partitions, logical, extended and primary.
Re-boot the machine, run fdisk again and try to create a FAT32 partition.

Good luck,
Marc
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD-RAM from DIVA formated FAT16 - any ideas anyone? tonmeistermat Post - Surround - Video 4 10-11-2007 04:04 PM
Fat32 and mac runi Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 07-31-2005 08:23 PM
fat16, fat32 or ntfs? parmant Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 01-14-2003 11:35 AM
How do you change from FAT16 to FAT32?? Camilo Orozco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 02-09-2002 10:06 PM
FAT16 AMG Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 12 11-19-1998 08:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com