Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2002, 06:20 PM
caz caz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 82
Default adding internal ide drive to my g3 to record to

i have an mbox and am thinking of buying an ide drive to put inside my g3 and record to that. good idea? will work well? [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2002, 06:26 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: adding internal ide drive to my g3 to record to

What version of the G3 do you have? Depending on which version, it is easier/more difficult to add a second drive.

The initial B&W G3's aka rev 1 (300,350 & 400mhz) did not support the second drive option. It is still possible to add a second drive (I did) but it requires some additional materials.

Rev 2 G3's (350, 400 & 450mhz) include the right cabling and mounting hardware for a 2nd IDE drive.

Beige G3's use SCSI drives, and it's pretty easy to add another one of these internally or externally.

To actually answer your question, yes it is a good idea to add a 2nd drive to your system to use for your audio projects, mostly because they tend to take up a large amount of space, and often the system drives included in G3 macs weren't very fast or big.

Post your system specs, and we can help you find a good drive as well as install instructions to get you started.

-Slim
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2002, 06:55 PM
caz caz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 82
Default Re: adding internal ide drive to my g3 to record to

thanks. i'll check into the specs. and get back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot record on internal drive MarcoM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-03-2008 10:04 PM
Adding 2nd internal hard drive to G5.... popps Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-11-2007 04:03 PM
record to internal drive mulderden Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 12-23-2005 08:23 AM
G5 - Adding an Internal ATA drive 888 General Discussion 0 04-18-2005 11:24 AM
Adding an IDE Internal Hard Drive for audio only markus44uk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-11-2002 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com