Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2013, 09:46 PM
IslandStylee04 IslandStylee04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PureHits
Posts: 12
Default PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Will the new version of Pro Tools be compatible with the early 2008 Mac Pros 3,1? I would be really disappointed if it isn't - given that I have been a loyal customer for many years. I am looking forward to operating in a 64 bit environment. Someone please enlighten me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2013, 09:51 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 958
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

I'd be interested to know this too. If not, I won't be updating until Apple release a new MacPro.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacStudio Ultra / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2013, 10:19 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,637
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Pro Tools 11 Supported OS:
OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.x
Windows 7 (64-bit) Windows 8

Supported CPUs:
Mac Pro 2009 or newer
i7 iMac & Mac Mini i7 MacBook Pro Retina

Compatible with:
Pro Tools HDX systems
Pro Tools HD Native systems
SYNC HD
Pro Tools Mbox*, 003, Eleven Rack and standalone software

*Not compatible with earlier Mboxes

PC specs are coming.
__________________
Manny.

Wave-T.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2013, 10:24 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,700
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Remember, in Avid parlance "supported" does not mean "restricted to".


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2013, 10:34 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
Remember, in Avid parlance "supported" does not mean "restricted to".


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
So you think it will still work with an iMac Quad i5?

I don't care if I can run 1000 tracks but I bought this thing for making tutorials less than a year ago. It would suck if it was already obsolete.

Just checked Apple's site and none of the iMacs are i7 as standard. You have to buy the top of the line and then get an i7 upgrade as a custom add-on.

That's a bit crazy to be the least we can use for Pro Tools 11. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2013, 10:38 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
So you think it will still work with an iMac Quad i5?

I don't care if I can run 1000 tracks but I bought this thing for making tutorials less than a year ago. It would suck if it was already obsolete.

Just checked Apple's site and none of the iMacs are i7 as standard. You have to buy the top of the line and then get an i7 upgrade as a custom add-on.

That's a bit crazy to be the least we can use for Pro Tools 11. Right?
I'm going to guess there will be a PT11 demo just like there's currently a PT10 demo. That would be the best way to determine if it will work.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2013, 10:42 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,700
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
So you think it will still work with an iMac Quad i5?
I don't know Kenny. What Avid means when they say supported is that is what they qualified it on and they aren't going to test or guarantee anything else.

As far as I can recall, Avid has yet to build an installer that discriminated against a hardware configuration other than PPC.


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control

Last edited by Top Jimmy; 04-07-2013 at 11:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2013, 11:30 PM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

To be honest over the years I saw many "non-supported" mac working flawlessly with Pro Tools. Although I have no real evidence, my guess is that i5 macs will work just as fine.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2013, 04:55 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,600
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Top Jimmy View Post
I don't know Kenny. What Avid means when they say supported is that is what they qualified it on and they aren't going to test or guarantee anything else.

As far as I can recall, Avid has yet to build an installer that discriminated against a hardware configuration other than PPC.


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
What he said. ^^^^^^
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-08-2013, 06:20 AM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: PT 11 & early 2008 Mac Pro 3,1

Thanks for the responses.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Early 2008 PT11 and mavericks postprosound macOS 8 04-13-2014 05:34 PM
HD3 PCIe in Mac Pro 3,1 early 2008 tonwurm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 04-27-2013 01:41 AM
HDX on early 2008 Mac Pro 8 Core.... no go ? :-( Zownd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 12-27-2011 04:04 PM
Early 2008 Mac Pro w/HD Native? DJ FADE Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 11-01-2011 05:51 PM
Mac Pro early 2008 with 2 graphic cards mik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-07-2008 07:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com