Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2005, 03:27 PM
rcook349 rcook349 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 124
Default Record to internal or external drive?

I'll soon have a laptop for my Pro Tools. Do I record to the internal 7200 IDE drive, or is the correct way to record to an external drive? Is this via firewire or some other cable?

Sorry for the extemely basic/stupid question.
__________________
Ronald S. Cook
Westinis, Inc.
P.O. Box 7420
Boulder, CO 80306
http://www.westinis.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2005, 03:39 PM
superpenguin79 superpenguin79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,783
Default Re: Record to internal or external drive?

preferably you'll want to have a fast enough external drive in this situation via Firewire. However, it is always best to have 2 internal drives on any computer if you get a desktop eventually and set one for applications and the other as your audio drive. I believe the current drive standards are around 5700, but I think there are better ones also. Its been a while since I had to purchase a drive. you definately want to go external though. Goodluck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2005, 04:42 PM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Record to internal or external drive?

pertains to situation. I prefer mobile flexibility. So I partitioned my 4500 speed internal drive. And I record to it without having to lug around a firewire drive that needs to be plugged in. The whole reason why they never made MBOX firewire supposedly so you wont have to plug to a external power supply if you want to record in the middle of nowhere. I assume laptop is for mobile recording of course.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2005, 01:19 AM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: Record to internal or external drive?

Yeah, internal or external doedn't really matter, as long as the drive speed is compatible with protools. Just make sure you have a seperate drive to record to. Don't record on the system drive, it will cause the drive to become fragmented and when you defrag you can lose plug-in auths (that aren't on Ilok) and have to go through hoops to get them back.

Not fun, easier to just keep audio seperate.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro: Internal or external drive? nz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-20-2010 10:58 AM
Is an external drive superior to a 2nd internal drive for recording with Protools? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 03-03-2010 06:08 AM
Secondary internal drive vs external drive for PT8 ? chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-24-2009 01:58 AM
External Drive writing to Internal SATA Drive Teen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-16-2007 07:29 AM
External firewire drive OR second internal drive? sundial 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 03-26-2004 08:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com