Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2003, 07:16 PM
LSRdigital LSRdigital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 83
Default LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior

I updated to 6.0.1 yesterday. I tried to install the core audio drivers, but I soon discovered that they are badly crippled and useless, so I promptly uninstalled them, and put the midi driver back in its original place. I decided to start working on a new song today, so I opened up a new session, added a midi track and an aux input, and started penciling in some notes for a drum track. I have an external drum machine that is triggered by the midi notes and its sounds are routed back in through the aux input. After putting together a few bars of the drum pattern, I hit the space bar to play it back, but instead of all the notes I just wrote in being played back, only random bits and pieces actually sent a midi signal out to the drum machine each time I hit play. Since this is how I start laying out every song I record, this is a HUGE problem for me. I reinstalled 6.0, and everything is working as before. Can anyone else see if their 6.0.1 refuese to play all newly placed midi notes?.
__________________
June 2004 PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz
8 GB RAM
MacOS 10.3.9/10.4.2
M-Audio Audiophile 192
PT M-Powered 6.8/7.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2003, 08:25 PM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior

This is part of something I recently posted concerning new issues I've had with PT6.0.1

Quote:
Midi instrument (Rolland A-90ex controller) connected to 001 midi port can no longer play multiple notes (chords) after applying quantize to the selected notes. Only the highest note in the chord will play back. (Big Big issue!!) This was totally resolved be going back to version 6.0
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Apparently, if notes are stacked on the same beat (or grid location) of a measure, only some of the notes will play.

dk
__________________
www.dpksound.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2003, 12:13 AM
LSRdigital LSRdigital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 83
Default Re: LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior

i don't know if you have already done so, but if not, you (and anyone else that experiences this problem) should submit a bug report

http://www.digidesign.com/support/forms/bug/

not being able to play chords is simply unforgivable.
__________________
June 2004 PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz
8 GB RAM
MacOS 10.3.9/10.4.2
M-Audio Audiophile 192
PT M-Powered 6.8/7.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2003, 05:30 AM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior

Did that. You can play chords, just as long as there not in perfect time... [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]

dk
__________________
www.dpksound.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2003, 05:46 AM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,048
Default Re: LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior

LSRdigital,

I was just wondering, is your drum machine connected to the 001 midi i/o? The reason I ask is because I have two other midi devices in my system that are connected to a Midisport 2x2 interface and they CAN (or I should say did) play back correctly when I was doing my troubleshooting.

BTW, I never even installed the Core Audio Drivers. Imagine if I had...? [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]

Here is the link I posted of the other problems I encountered as well.

http://duc.digidesign.com/cgi-bin/ub...;f=24;t=020140

dk
__________________
www.dpksound.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2003, 12:17 PM
LSRdigital LSRdigital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 83
Default Re: LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior

my drum machine is connected to the 001's midi jacks, as i don' thave any other midi interface. i did some more testing lastnight, and it's not just perfectly quantized chords that won't play. i opened a new session and laid out one measure of 16th notes, and only the first one will play. i can start playback at any point in the measure and only the note right where the insert point is will make a sound.
__________________
June 2004 PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz
8 GB RAM
MacOS 10.3.9/10.4.2
M-Audio Audiophile 192
PT M-Powered 6.8/7.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Erratic Delay Compensation behavior (bug). The Dubnicks Pro Tools 9 0 12-05-2010 10:16 AM
midi timing erratic even with click on LE 7.3 Greg F 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 07-18-2009 04:50 PM
Erratic timing with MIDI Olixka MIDI 2 01-12-2008 09:31 AM
Erratic MIDI jperser 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-05-2001 10:23 PM
Automation erratic behavior nubus system Cabin Studios General Discussion 0 01-05-2001 10:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com