Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 09-06-2022, 11:00 PM

Default Panning simply increases volume

Hello! I am absolute beginner at Pro Tools, and many of the replies here have a lot of technical jargon that I am unfamiliar with. I simply am trying to get my start in recording and basic mixing and mastering. I have some experience with software such as Logic Pro X, a much easier DAW to grasp in my opinion.

I don't have a cool setup or anything. I just have my laptop computer and an audio interface for recording. I've had this issue when I'm trying to listen with my headphones that when I pan to the right or left, it simply just increases the volume, and the actual volume control barely does anything. When I return the pan to center, it's quiet again. I need somebody to explain this to me in baby steps.
Old 09-06-2022, 11:55 PM

Default Re: Panning simply increases volume

Hi Welcome to DUC.

Unfortunately DUC is not a place where other users can provide basic tutorials, but we can help when you are stuck or things are not working as expected.

The very best way to get started is to find beginner video tutorials close to what you want to do, using a similar version of Pro Tools as well. You can find free content on YouTube or classes on commercial services like Groove3.com. You need to work through following what a few tutorials are doing closely and then it will click and you will be off and working. This is by far the least frustrating, most productive way to learn this stuff unless you have a personal mentor who can sit with you doing this.