Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2022, 02:43 PM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 215
Default M1 computer ok?

I am getting a new Mac Mini M1 this week, is it compatible with Pro Tools 2022.7? or do I need do something?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2022, 02:48 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerochan View Post
I am getting a new Mac Mini M1 this week, is it compatible with Pro Tools 2022.7? or do I need do something?
Protools 2022.6 & 2022.7 are compatible with Apple Silicon (M1, M2, M1Pro, M1Max, and M1Ultra) BUT, It is not native. It is running under Rosetta2, an Intel translator. It still performs well. There are still some third party plugins that are not compatible with Apple Silicon.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 12.6 running Protools 2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2022, 02:50 PM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 215
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Protools 2022.6 & 2022.7 are compatible with Apple Silicon (M1, M2, M1Pro, M1Max, and M1Ultra) BUT, It is not native. It is running under Rosetta2, an Intel translator. It still performs well. There are still some third party plugins that are not compatible with Apple Silicon.
Thank you, where do I get Rosetta2 from?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2022, 05:40 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,452
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

It is included with macOS (I think starting with Big Sur but it might have been there earlier). No need to "get" it. It is already in the operating system looking for any Intel code to run.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 12.6 running Protools 2022.10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2022, 10:38 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,282
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

As said, it is good to go for testing and such, but I would not recommend putting it into action with paying customer waiting for results.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2022, 11:08 PM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 87
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

especially if you are running HDX. it works but it doesn't feel extremely solid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2022, 01:46 AM
audiolex1 audiolex1 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Studio City
Posts: 230
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Seems to work fine on the editing side. Jury is out on total stability for recording/mixing in real world.

Its where it is going, so might as well dive in and start testing it. Eventually it will get there. But at least you will know what you can and can't do reliable.

Testing some native stuff and its killing the intel stuff. Get in now before the prices dramatically increase.
The Mini is expected in 2 forms of M2 and M2 Pro in the Sept conference. No word on Mac Pro Silicon AFAIK.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1. 3.46 12 core, 128 gigs ram, 580 GPU flashed Apple EMI
PT Ult 2021.12, OSX 10.14.6, 3 card PCI-e expansion with 3.2 USB Sonnet card.
OCTO 8 card, Apollo 8 Quad, UAD quad satellite FW.
Almost every plugin
PT Ultimate 2021.12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2022, 05:31 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,784
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

IMO, a M1 mac isn't just an M1 mac.
OK the processor is great, runs circles around the intels, and stays forever cool, so the mac is dead silent.

But a M1 mac with more memory and bigger internal disk (2500MB/s+) is on a different level than a basic M1 with 8GB RAM and 256 or 512MB internal disk.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2022, 06:18 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,282
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

Stop talking about M1, it is Apple Slilicon.

I have M1 mini here as a testbed and M2 air ordered. Both fully loaded, and both useless in PRO session as without native software risks are still too high.

Apple needs to cut support for Intel hardware once and for all, that seems to be the only way to get all companies onboard. Some will be lost, but the ones that want to keep selling their product will survive. A great example of this was when Apple dropped PPC code in Snow Leopard and Avid came up with 8.1.1 which is still THE most stable PT version ever.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-15-2022, 06:44 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,205
Default Re: M1 computer ok?

I’ve been using an M1 Mac Mini 16GB 512HD for paying clients for about a year and a half without any issues. Non HDX. Post Production mixing and editing and recording. I’d say that is solid real world “testing” and it just works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer experts have you heard of this computer maker? garnoil General Discussion 3 07-07-2013 07:05 PM
Migrating to new computer and want to transfer my presets to new computer???? MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2008 11:52 AM
Digi 001 computer out to computer Cable Question dbguitar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2004 04:29 PM
Desktop Computer or Network Computer? platinumx99 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-07-2001 09:04 AM
question : can i copy/paste all my computer hard/soft to other computer . for a gig. sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-10-2001 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com