Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-04-2022, 03:47 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,799
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
...believe me and don't mind me when I say that your advice is NOT the solution for everyone.
...and you can say that because?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
I always prepare my posts in Apple's TextEdit (set to Plain Text) or BBEdit because I know that sometimes after trying to post a post, DUC will ask to log in again and then everything that was typed is lost
That's practical, but it's certainly not a solution to the problem.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-04-2022, 04:00 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Again; when I get this error:
I go back
Copy the text I wanted to post
Paste it into a simple text editor, I use Stickies
Select all and copy again
Paste that into the entry field in DUC and post.


Works for me.
There's an even easier way: before you post what you write copy the material like you mentioned except when you get back to the forum thread you wanted to post to open a window to post and just paste what you copied just before. Saves having to go to a text editor. Unless you have to restart your browser the material should still be in the clipboard of whatever browser you're using.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-04-2022, 04:41 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,974
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
There's an even easier way: before you post what you write copy the material like you mentioned except when you get back to the forum thread you wanted to post to open a window to post and just paste what you copied just before. Saves having to go to a text editor. Unless you have to restart your browser the material should still be in the clipboard of whatever browser you're using.
And that is what I do, except for very long posts with I might compose in an editor. The trap with cutting and pasting is you copy a long post to be safe, then use copy and paste to move some text around, and then the post fails... and that is a great reason on Macs to install [ADVERTISEMENT] Flycut clipboard manager https://apps.apple.com/us/app/flycut...42160987?mt=12[/ADVERTISEMENT]. Flycut makes it very easy to go back to any past cut/copy you made.

And browser back arrow will also work most of the time, but maybe not always.

I hear from Jeffro that this problem is still being worked on. I suspect NAAM might be a current distraction.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-05-2022, 01:43 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

I have done every suggestion mentioned and had every one of them fail as often as they work. Sometimes with something as simple as 2 lines of text with nothing but basic punctuation. Then at other times, I can write a long post with multiple paragraphs with numbered points and attached photos with no problem at all. Things that make you go "Hmmm"
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-05-2022, 03:47 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,974
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I have done every suggestion mentioned and had every one of them fail as often as they work. Sometimes with something as simple as 2 lines of text with nothing but basic punctuation. Then at other times, I can write a long post with multiple paragraphs with numbered points and attached photos with no problem at all. Things that make you go "Hmmm"
If you have a few lines of text that fail please PM me and I'll give you an email address to send to (as attachment so hopefully it does not get mangled by email).
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-05-2022, 05:25 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,452
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
If you have a few lines of text that fail please PM me and I'll give you an email address to send to (as attachment so hopefully it does not get mangled by email).
Thanks
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-12-2022, 11:40 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
...and you can say that because?

... because... I know as I tried all this, what do you think why I can say what I say?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M



I always prepare my posts in Apple's TextEdit (set to Plain Text) or BBEdit because I know that sometimes after trying to post a post, DUC will ask to log in again and then everything that was typed is lost
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen
That's practical, but it's certainly not a solution to the problem.

Yes I know this smartypants, it was an example and an answer to one of the other guys responding to this thread trying to give me some advice. The suggestion to use plain txt, which I already do.



What is wrong with you?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-15-2022, 12:30 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 10,105
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

We're finally making some progress here. I have a few chunks of text that previously triggered the error, and after some internal changes I'm able to post them.

If you have any text that causes an error when posting or sending private messages please Create A Case under Account Support to provide that text to us.

Thank you!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-15-2022, 12:51 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,974
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

Thanks Jeffro.

The PM message thing may help folks... you can play there sending yourself PMs without posting noise to the forum, the same mechanism and same error message will happen for a PM as it does for a forum post.

Clearly the problem is not fully fixed yet, I just sent Avid/Jeffro some more examples of failures. If you have examples of failure *please* send them in.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-17-2022, 08:11 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: "Access denied" when trying to post

You rock, jeffro!






##
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
We're finally making some progress here. I have a few chunks of text that previously triggered the error, and after some internal changes I'm able to post them.

If you have any text that causes an error when posting or sending private messages please Create A Case under Account Support to provide that text to us.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Access denied" when saving a template ljackson Windows 2 12-23-2017 10:28 AM
Could not create a new document because Permission denied (13) while creating "test" n2one Pro Tools 12 0 05-29-2017 04:04 PM
"Could not complete your request because Access is denied" ColinSound Windows 2 05-13-2013 03:58 PM
Audiosuite "Access denied" trey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-07-2002 09:20 PM
"access denied" when using audio suite plugs lewis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 08-16-2001 01:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com