Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2022, 11:50 AM
Zak7 Zak7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 64
Default I just installed Pro Tools 2021.12 and show 2021.6...why?

Hello,

From Pro Tools 2021.6 I just installed Pro tools 2021.12 and shows in "about" that is 2021.6

I am on macOS Mojave 10.14.6


any reason??

thanks

Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2022-01-13 at 1.46.27 PM.png (28.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2022, 12:10 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,985
Default Re: I just installed Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12 and shows 2021.6...why?

Please follow the DUC rules and only post one thread per issue.

This will all be caused by a user error, so you need to work out what you are doing wrong… not to just point blame, but to help you fix this it’s where you need to focus… it will almost certainly caused by something you are going.

How exactly are you starting Pro Tools, clicking on what exact icon? exactly where?

A possible cause for this is you have two versions installed and are launching the old version (Macs make this easy given how many apps are packaged). That can especially happen if you are clicking on a link on your desktop or Dock that is pointing to the old version, including potentially you may be launching a prior installed version that you had dragged to the trash.

Try looking at what is installed in /Applications and clicking on the correct icon there. If that does not work drag all the Pro Tools related stuff there and any other Pro Tools looking apps or links to the trash, empty the trash and reinstall, double checking you have the correct installer… it’s also easy to down load an installer then accidentally run a previously downloaded old installer.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 01-13-2022 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2022, 06:52 PM
sdelsolray sdelsolray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 216
Default Re: I just installed Pro Tools 2021.12 and show 2021.6...why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zak7 View Post
Hello,

From Pro Tools 2021.6 I just installed Pro tools 2021.12 and shows in "about" that is 2021.6

I am on macOS Mojave 10.14.6


any reason??

thanks
Yes, you are likely launching the 2021.6 version and not the 2121.12 version. Both can coexist in you Applications folder but they need different names (e.g., Pro Tools 2021.6.0 and Pro Tools 2021.12.0. Check your Applications folder. You likely have two Pro Tools applications in there. On the Dock, remove the .6 version and drag the .12 to the Dock.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2022, 09:50 AM
Zak7 Zak7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 64
Default Re: I just installed Pro Tools 2021.12 and show 2021.6...why?

I do not know what happened... I re-installed Pro Tools 2010.12 and opened the same PT Icon and was Ok... actually I did not find another Version of Pro tools in my system as I also thought that could be the case. Thank you guys
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-14-2022, 10:11 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 10,113
Default Re: I just installed Pro Tools 2021.12 and show 2021.6...why?

Good to know you solved it. If you run into this again, right+click the icon in your Dock and select Options > Show In Finder, then Get Info on the selected app to check the version. If needed, you can delete it from the Dock then find your current app and drag that in (or opt+shift+command+T).
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LFOtool freezing on 2021.10 & 2021.12 JingleDjango Pro Tools 1 01-05-2022 08:21 PM
2021.6 and 2021.7 restart after exit NJsound.com Pro Tools 12 08-11-2021 02:45 PM
Downgrading from 2021.6 t0 2021.3 Mac M1 Leon77 Pro Tools 2 07-21-2021 10:43 AM
Installed PT 2021.3.1 onto Win10, nothing works as expected Dagg Pro Tools 10 06-05-2021 04:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com