Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2009, 01:59 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default CS 48 mic pres?

Are the pres the same as on a D-Show system?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:48 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Yep!
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2009, 02:56 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Thanks! Are the pres in Venue systems same as ones in DigiPre?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-22-2009, 04:04 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

The pres are the same----just configured in 1dB steps instead of 5dB steps, at least that's what I was told 4-5 years ago. I have designed an intense website talking about the basics of Venue, but for some reason those pages aren't showing. Keep checking, later tonight I should have it back online:

http://www.theaudioprofessional.com/...ign_Venue.html
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2009, 04:15 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradLyons View Post
The pres are the same----just configured in 1dB steps instead of 5dB steps, at least that's what I was told 4-5 years ago.
DigiPre's go by 5db steps? Sounds kind of a lot
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2009, 05:50 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

In the studio, that's normal. Stepped gain is preferred for best quality signal through the pots. If you can predict the gain stage in stepped-gain v/s continuously variable--the end result is a cleaner signal path. This is quite normal, obviously in the live world 5dB steps is a BAD thing.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2009, 06:46 PM
Geb Geb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 50
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidesigner View Post
Are the pres the same as on a D-Show system?
The Mic Pres (all the IO cards really) in SC48 are the same as those in Mix Rack (6 dB increments), but different from those in Stage Rack (3 dB increments).

That being said, you can adjust your input gains in 0.1 dB increments on all systems, thanks to the digital input gain complement (use the fine mode).

-g

Last edited by Geb; 06-22-2009 at 06:53 PM. Reason: Adding digital gain complement.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2009, 07:28 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

huh? I was told a long time ago they are 1dB
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-23-2009, 04:25 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Hi,

Okay...let's see if I can untangle this a bit.

Re: SC48 mic pres (taken directly from this post on PSW)
VENUE SC48 uses the exact same I/O cards as Mix Rack. It also uses the same DSP Mix Engine, so sonically it will be identical. Sonically and spec-wise these I/O cards are nearly identical to the I/O cards used in the Stage Rack, for the VENUE Profile and D-Show systems. There are some circuit differences needed to help constrain costs, but the performance is still excellent and in blind listening tests with different instruments, mics, etc. no one could definitively pick out the difference between the two designs.

Re: comparison to Digi PRE.
The VENUE mic pres used in Stage Rack, Mix Rack and SC48 are not the same as the Digi PRE. They were designed by the same senior engineering guru and use some of the same components, but are different than the studio PRE design (e.g., in the studio you aren't concerned about connecting three consoles simultaneously, all feeding +48V phantom power...).

Re: the gain step size.
The Mix Rack/SC 48 mic pre uses a combination of analog and digital gain over its full range. The analog gain is relay-switched in 6 dB steps. In between these steps digital gain is then used to give 0.1 dB gain increments. From a user's perspective you have full control of a mic pre from +10 dB to +60 dB in 0.1 dB gain increments (the transitions between analog and digital gain are handled automatically as the gain is adjusted). This hybrid approach gives the best combination of fine control and high quality audio performance.

Sheldon

Last edited by Sheldon Radford; 06-23-2009 at 05:01 PM. Reason: Edited for clarity re mic pre
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2009, 08:07 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: CS 48 mic pres?

Are you saying that the 6dB stepped-gain is on THE PRE (outboard unit) or on the console's pres? I'M CONFUSED NOW!
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omni Pres/Converters vs. Other Pres/Converters Infiltrator Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 01-15-2012 11:28 PM
What's better... BLA 002R Mod Pres or DigiMax FS Pres via Lightpipe? DeyBwah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-04-2010 08:39 PM
Digi max fs pres vs. 003 pres. KevinAllen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 01-26-2010 06:18 PM
budget tube pres vs. 002R's pres davetron5000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 10-12-2003 06:04 AM
001 pres or Mackie pres??? QuikDraw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-04-2002 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com