Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2022, 01:30 PM
stevenfitzgerald stevenfitzgerald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Lincolnshire uk
Posts: 3
Default Windows 10 to mac

I’ve recently gone from pc to Mac but I’m at a loss as to how to get my sessions from one to the other I’ve tried click to save and when I download the files it says file missing and doesn’t work, is there an easy way to do this as I was hoping that when I signed in on the Mac everything would’ve been there
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2022, 01:46 PM
falcowe's Avatar
falcowe falcowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nashville, TN - USA
Posts: 117
Default Re: Windows 10 to mac

What is the ProTools session file extension you are opening? They should open just fine. I have opened session from my windows machine on my OSX machine without issues before. What files are missing? Any more information you can provide?
__________________
MacPro 7,1 (sigh) 16-core, 128GB ram, W5700X GPU, RME UFX+, PT 2021.7U.
Artist Mix, S1, and PT|Dock.
And too many VIs and VEPro machines.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2022, 02:19 PM
stevenfitzgerald stevenfitzgerald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Lincolnshire uk
Posts: 3
Default Re: Windows 10 to mac

It’s the guitar files that doesn’t work, I’m sorry but I’m at a very beginners level and not overly savvy with the computer terms ! The pro tools is studio on the Mac and just pro tools on the pc if that makes a difference. Sorry for my basic knowledge
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2022, 02:41 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,967
Default Re: Windows 10 to mac

What is a "guitar file"? You mean guitar audio you have tracked and is in the session?

What is the *exact* error message you are getting?

When Pro Tools says an audio file is missing it's likely just missing.

The most common cause of stuff like this is you not working carefully and not keeping audio assets (files) in the session folder. They are somewhere else on your PC and only moving the session folder to the Mac lost those files.

You can go back to the PC and do a "Save Copy In" that will move audio assets into the Copy you save. But you really should work out what you have been doing wrong and how to keep assets into the session folder.

You can also look around in Workplace>Session>Session Files and find where files are.

The Pro Tools Reference Guide has more details on all this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2022, 02:49 PM
stevenfitzgerald stevenfitzgerald is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Lincolnshire uk
Posts: 3
Default Re: Windows 10 to mac

Thank you and I’ve used save copy in I don’t get and error message
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-08-2022, 03:26 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,967
Default Re: Windows 10 to mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenfitzgerald View Post
Thank you and I’ve used save copy in I don’t get and error message
Great.

But when you have time try to work out how you did this and don't let it happen again.

You likely want to set Pro Tools to always copy content on import.

This all is a very common mistake... and in worse cases leads to permanent loss of content.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools tabbed windows in MacOs - Windows configuration not working hugocentrique macOS 2 05-07-2018 12:57 PM
Audio glitches with Fast Track Ultra on Windows 10 after updating Windows 10 GregS FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 6 12-25-2015 04:40 PM
Windows Guide - Windows 7 Optimizations and Troubleshooting.[349411] cwsand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-12-2010 02:46 PM
Is standalone Windows Audio Drivers v8.0.3 compatible with WINDOWS XP 64 ? VonHelvete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-28-2010 11:01 AM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com