Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2002, 10:25 AM
Joseph Anderson Joseph Anderson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 422
Default HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

I could not belive it - I bought an 867 and for no additional money Apple substituted a 933 mhz processor. I was celebrating my good fortune when it hit me: will I have 001 compatability problems? Digi? Others? What do you think?


HELP!!!! [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img]
__________________
jla
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2002, 10:58 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

The processor does not determine compatibility, it's the operating system. You cannot run PT on OSX. It will however run fine on OS 9.2.1. Both are loaded on your new mac. Enjoy!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2002, 11:04 AM
tworooms tworooms is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 415
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

wow!!

In times like this, its hard to decide whether to be honest and return the wrong G4 to apple or not ..

If I were you, I'll be quite confused also. One thing about keeping it is of coz the great improvement in CPU power!! However, if by keeping it, you cannot run PT LE because of some incompatibility, then its better off returning it and get what you ordered, which is supposedly proven to work properly.

BUT I think, most probably I'll keep it.

WOW!! 933!!!

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Regards,
[Charles]
www.two-rooms.com
__________________
:: TWO ROOMS pte ltd
:: Audio Post Production
:: for Film / TV / Radio / Internet / Multimedia
:: www.tworooms.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2002, 11:49 AM
KamaSutra77 KamaSutra77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,284
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

933 is now the midrange machine-just what you paid for, bout time apple started honoring the intent of the purchaser. Quit respectable. The real question is can digi have THIER products not be compatible?
__________________
Huh?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2002, 11:49 AM
bebopxx bebopxx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 30
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

If I were you, I'd return it and tell Apple to send you the slower machine. Please be an honest person! [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2002, 04:30 PM
Kling3 Kling3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 378
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR> this is not necessary. We run dual OS on our dual 800 (OSX and 9.2.1) as do many others (as a search on the DUC will show) with NO problems or compatibility issues.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I only mention this as this is what Sweetwater does and told me to do. It is what their "Digi guy" said to do.

If it works great. itunes a plus. I spin around in a chair to different Macs for different apps only to avoid our otherwise never ending conflicts with audio/graphics
web/itunes/OSX etc. Your point well taken if it works for you.
__________________
002r/MacPro 2.8/8-core/10.6.4/PTLE 8.0.4/two internal 500gig drives/8GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2002, 05:29 PM
Digi9000000 Digi9000000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 260
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

I ordered an 867 a little while ago too, and when I checked my order status today, it had been changed to a 933 as well, with no change in price.

I'm taking it!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2002, 06:32 PM
phamtec phamtec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Wollongong, Australia
Posts: 358
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

OS 10.1.2/9..2 on the same mac also works just fine for me.

I tend to use OS X more than 9, since my job is development using OS X, but i have never had a problem with PT on OS 9 after rebooting to it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2002, 07:06 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,600
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

Just so you know what our recommendations are, the Digi 001 Mac compato docs state:
http://www.digidesign.com/compato/macos.html

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Known Issues:
  1. <LI>The "Quicksilver" G4 models require OS 9.2, 9.2.1, or 9.2.2 to run Pro Tools. Users should not attempt to install OS 9.1, or run OSX, (including Classic mode), with Pro Tools on these machines. The Quicksilver G4 models have been tested with the Mac OS as shippped from Apple on these machines, with a dual boot system which includes both OS 9.2.x and OS X. It is absolutely necessary to boot from OS 9.2.x in order to run Pro Tools. Although you cannot use Pro Tools with OS X or in "Classic" mode under OS X, it is not necessary to remove OS X from these "Quicksilver" G4 computers.
    <LI>Additional Mac OS Notes: Mac OS 9.2, 9.2.1, and 9.2.2 have only been tested with the Quicksilver G4 models. Earlier models that do not require OS 9.2 have not been tested for compatibility with Mac OS 9.2 or higher. In addition, you should not install OS X on the same partition or hard drive with Mac OS 9.x that you use as your startup drive for Pro Tools on pre-Quicksilver G4 models.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-28-2002, 09:12 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: HELP!!! New Quicksilver - apple shipped me 933 processor - compatible?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Digidesign:
Just so you know what our recommendations are, the Digi 001 Mac compato docs state:
http://www.digidesign.com/compato/macos.html

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Just so yu know what works, see the many posts from otheres (like us) that have OSX and 9.2.1 on the same drive with no problems. Digi we know you don't support OSX yet, but it's not a sin to have it on our machines, and it will not make your software screw up.
Relax and get to work on compatibility.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there ANY APPLE/MAC desktops that is compatible confusedhelp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-16-2007 12:05 PM
Apple Power Mac G4 Quicksilver & MBox, MBox2, Digi Pro Tools LE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-13-2005 11:45 AM
Quicksilver 733 processor upgrade parker9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 10-15-2003 09:04 PM
Is 6.0/OSX compatible with Quicksilver 733MHz Digital Audio G4? Son of David 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-13-2003 11:02 AM
Apple QuickSilver 733 JimmyM Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-13-2001 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com