Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2006, 07:12 PM
iamsaved iamsaved is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default signal flow

signal flow
I am new to the recording studio
I've just purchased a complete package secondhand sum of the items do not have manuals and would like to have help with signal flow
here is a list of equipment
ProTools digi 002 rack
Mackie Pro tools controler
Mackie 24/4 channel mixer
Alesis AI-3 24 bit analog to ADAT optical Interface
PreSonus, Eureka Preamp, Compressor and Equalizer
Alesis 3630 Compressor.. which I heard was not that good should I just hook up the preamp with compressor instead of 3630
Peavey Q215fx dual 15 band Equalizer with FLS
Blue Sky Monitoring Systems
Alesis MicroVerb 4 effects
2- Samson C-que8 head phone boxes
E Magic MIDI Transmiter patch w/ 2 ins & 4 outs
Roland XP-30
Yamaha Motif 6
Triton Rack
MPC 1000
4 Shure Sm- 58 Mics, 2- AKG C200b Condensor Mics, 4-samson mics

Protools LE With Waves plugins
please provide as much detail as possible
thank you for anyone willing to respond to this post
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:21 AM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: signal flow

Hi there Bob,
I'm curious what kind of replies you'll have on this one..
If you are just getting into the studio/engineering thing, you should take your time and read about the basics first. There are many posts in these forums suggesting books. Search for a user ; spkguitar ..he is constantly advising new users on similar topics.
If I were you...hire an experienced technician, installer or engineer for a day and discuss all the possibilities and solutions, specifically for your requirements, place and work flow.
good luck with all, you'll need some..
And, Welcome to the DUC

cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2006, 06:41 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: signal flow

Quote:
If I were you...hire an experienced technician, installer or engineer for a day and discuss all the possibilities and solutions, specifically for your requirements, place and work flow.

I'll second that.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2006, 08:46 AM
chrisk23 chrisk23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 143
Default Re: signal flow

this is good link for general studio/equipment info

http://web.archive.org/web/200302161...diocovers.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:16 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: signal flow

No need to link to the archive anymore:
http://www.theprojectstudiohandbook.com
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2006, 09:53 AM
superpenguin79 superpenguin79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,783
Default Re: signal flow

nice, they got a domain for the site now eh.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Signal flow alexford67 Pro Tools 10 4 05-17-2012 10:38 AM
Signal flow for mastering emstar Pro Tools 9 11 11-20-2011 09:32 AM
signal flow- plug ins stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-27-2009 07:51 PM
Signal Flow? nate9 ICON & C|24 2 01-27-2009 07:46 AM
002rack signal flow.... Lesson 8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-14-2005 06:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com