Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2012, 07:13 PM
jim creek jim creek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington wa
Posts: 1
Default Ready to build a studio

Don't know what to buy. I have an older protools system but want a new one with an automated board and large capacity and fast computer. Any suggestions as to everything I should get would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2012, 08:12 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Ready to build a studio

well....

how large a capacity? 32 I/Os or more?
Mac vs. Windows: get what your comfortable on, both work but make sure you get one that dose work with Pro Tools (not just any computer will rus Pro Tools well)
do you need to lock to external Timecode or generate it?
do you want a real mixer or just a good control surface? if a mixer do you want it to control Pro Tools?

what do you have now? for reference

what is your budget? you don't have to tell us but you need to know
off the top:
base getting in $10,000
full tricked out with a desk that controls Pro Tools $700,000
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Studio Build IntelDoc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-03-2008 06:01 PM
need an ADR-ready studio in DC area SOON viaspiaggia Post - Surround - Video 1 05-31-2004 07:39 PM
Newbie has lots of questions here... getting ready to invest in home studio gear... Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-28-2003 01:30 PM
Help me build my studio with protools Twin Cam General Discussion 3 11-20-2002 07:27 PM
Ready to Buy a home studio...questions gitartroy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-16-2001 06:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com