Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:27 PM
bstroner bstroner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Los Angeles So. CA
Posts: 99
Default Xmon??

whats the deal with the XMON?? is it just a separate surround management system that connects to the ICON monitor section?? Does the ICON d-control ES only monitor in 5.1 with the XMON? could I just use a 3rd party surround management system on the D-control to gain 7.1+?

To save some cash up front, I was wondering if DIGI sells the ICON ES series without the XMON system?

Could I buy just the controller allowing me to continue using my current surround management system leaving the XMON out of the purchase price.

If so... What would the price point be with out XMON.?

looking at both the D-command ES and the D-control ES.


thanks in advance.
__________________
Brian C. Stroner

Siren Digital
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:35 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,582
Default Re: Xmon??

D Control X Mon does 7.1 I believe and no, you can't separate it from the purchase.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:47 PM
bstroner bstroner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Los Angeles So. CA
Posts: 99
Default Re: Xmon??

Im guessing the 7.1 and 5.1 monitoring is in relation to the actual "monitor" section on the control surface, not the XMON unit??

below is whats noted in the technical specs...

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: :

D-control ES

"Includes XMON™ analog monitoring (up to 7.1 surround) and communications system"


D-command ES

"Includes XMON™ analog monitoring (up to 5.1 surround) and communications system"
__________________
Brian C. Stroner

Siren Digital
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2009, 05:06 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Xmon??

it's the same box the D-Con and D-Com use it diffrently
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2009, 05:24 PM
bstroner bstroner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Los Angeles So. CA
Posts: 99
Default Re: Xmon??

thanks.
__________________
Brian C. Stroner

Siren Digital
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2009, 05:47 PM
surflounge surflounge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cayucos California
Posts: 12
Default Re: Xmon??

X-mon is one of the best features of the icon, and why I bought mine. You really hear what's recorded. No latency.
__________________
Cayucos Music
http://beachnoise.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old XMon on S6? paulo m Avid S6 15 08-20-2014 03:22 AM
Need XMON help AINSLIE ICON & C|24 9 05-31-2012 11:51 PM
XMON for your DAW Mike Landolt General Discussion 1 04-13-2006 03:04 PM
XMON tstemland ICON & C|24 2 03-23-2006 02:00 PM
XMON OKN ICON & C|24 2 01-27-2006 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com