Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-06-2008, 10:39 AM

Unhappy Snare drum recommendations needed!

Hello,
I recorded a guy's drum tracks a week ago - when I had a horrible cold. At the time it sounded pretty good (the cold was messing with my ears!), but going back & listening to the snare now - it is the worst sounding snare I have ever heard! (the rest of the kit was fine - fortunately) I've tried EQ / effects etc. & it get's better, however, at best, it sounds like a garage band recording of a snare drum.

Normally, I record live drum kits & I have no experience with BFD or other such programs. Thus my question:

1) Could I use BFD or other program to replace the snare completely? In other words - have the recorded snare track trigger the BFD or other program. If yes - how would I do that?

2) I'm not giving up on the actual snare track - has anyone taken a crappy sounding snare & made it 'usable' (I know, subjective)? Any advice on the EQ/tweek/effect side would be appretiated also.

Thanks
Old 10-06-2008, 02:59 PM

Default Re: Snare drum recommendations needed!

i had to do something similar back in may.

find a snare sample that fits, and slip it under the snare hits, and edit out the originals. this could be a bit tedious, but would pay off.

i understand that sound replacer from the MPTK can accomplish this easier, but ive never used it.

http://overtheeffect.bandcamp.com
Old 10-06-2008, 04:08 PM