Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2024, 02:24 PM
aeg1492 aeg1492 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: MAdrid
Posts: 2
Default Pro tools don't recognize keyboard M-Audio Hammer 88 Pro

Hi folks,

I have got a Keyboard M-Audio Hammer 88 Pro that works fine with my PC and Kontakt standalone instrument pug in. However, I have problems connecting this Keyboard with Pro tools.
I am following the set up procedure described here:

https://support.m-audio.com/en/suppo...p-in-pro-tools,

but I cannot make Pro tools recognize Hammer 88 Pro………..I have attached a few screenshots: Input midi devices, Peripheral and the error that pop up. I have configured the Keyboard for Pro-tools, Windows PC too. Please note that you cannot see Hammer 88 Pro, Mackie/HUI. in the list of Midi devices so it may be related to that (Attached snapshot MIDI Input devices). Although, I can only see MIDIIN2 as MIDI input device, which is what I select. Why don’t we see the Hammer 88 Pro, Mackie HUI entry in MIDI input device as shown in the link above? Have I setup correctly the configuration?
Many thanks

Alvaro
Attached Images
File Type: png MIDI Input Devices.PNG (20.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Peripherals.jpg (20.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Error Keyboard HUI.PNG (31.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2024, 02:48 PM
cvicente22's Avatar
cvicente22 cvicente22 is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Philippines
Posts: 497
Default Re: Pro tools don't recognize keyboard M-Audio Hammer 88 Pro

Hi Alvaro,

Can you also share what version of Pro Tools and operating system are you using?
__________________
Regards,
Charles
________________
To create an Avid Support Case, you may go to https://avidtech.my.site.com/avidsup...t-support-page
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2024, 02:52 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,869
Default Re: Pro tools don't recognize keyboard M-Audio Hammer 88 Pro

-- Are on Pro Tools 12 since you are posting in a Pro Tools 12 subforum? I'll assume so for the rest of this post..

Are you trying to use the keyboard for DAW control or as a MIDI keyboard or both?

If you just want the MIDI keyboard input is that working to an instrument track? Can you see the MIDI events from the keyboard if you enable the Instrument view in the track in the Mix or Edit windows. (e.g. the small green meter in the Instrument view move on each MIDI event). To get started make sure MIDI Thru is selected, the VI track is record armed, and the MIDI I/O selectors shown in that Instrument view have input set to "All" (or the MIDI address of the keyboard) and the output MIDI I/O selector is set to the VI on that track (there is a occasional bug in Pro Tools where that MIDI Output becomes disconnected from the VI).

That is some not great documentation by M-Audio. Fuzzy illegible screen shots, talking about the Oxygen keyboard, incomplete effort to tell anybody how get the instrument track working. (e.g. enable MIDI Thru and record arm the track). Unfortunately they are a mess as a vendor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2024, 05:33 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,710
Default Re: Pro tools don't recognize keyboard M-Audio Hammer 88 Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
... Are you trying to use the keyboard for DAW control or as a MIDI keyboard or both? ...
Exactly my question to the OP as well.

In my Windows 11/Pro Tools setup, I'm using my M-Audio Hammer88 as a MIDI keyboard controller only (not HUI). Configured in Pro Tools' MIDI Studio Setup. Works great.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2024.6 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2024.6 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-Audio Hammer 88 edierobin Pro Tools 12 8 10-29-2017 07:01 PM
Pro Tools 9.0.2 Update Won't Recognize Oxygen 61 Keyboard Anymore StrokeMyAxe Windows 6 05-09-2011 02:29 PM
Pro tools 8 will not recognize M-Audio midi keyboard jonslaten 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-12-2010 10:11 PM
Pro tools doesn't recognize my keyboard... Zombie Crunch MIDI 5 05-08-2009 01:38 PM
How can I make Pro Tools LE recognize my midi keyboard? Antonio Tarantino 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-26-2003 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com