Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Old 06-09-2020, 05:18 AM

Default Record to portable drive

Hi I'm new to Protools First, but I want my recordings to go to a separate drive, not the system drive. I can't for the life of me find any preferences or save to... options. Is this not possible with First? If not does anyone know where the files are saved? I've searched for the recorded files with the names as they appear on my timeline, but Im assuming Protools, much like Media Compose, has its own audio format and unique names.

Graham
Old 06-09-2020, 06:36 AM

Location: Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA, Planet Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy
Default Re: Record to portable drive

You just create your new session, and save it onto your external drive.

In your “create new” window, there is the option at the bottom to choose or “prompt” where to save your new session. If this is not happening, it is because you need to click that option to on.

Unless you are using a gazillion tracks, you really do not need to use more than one drive to record audio to.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 06-09-2020, 07:50 AM

Pro Tools First only saves to the cloud. You can change the location for the project cache files though:

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...t-files-stored

Joel

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 11 Pro
Pro Tools HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Two 2x10 Passive Monitors / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Old 06-09-2020, 09:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
Pro Tools First only saves to the cloud. You can change the location for the project cache files though:

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...t-files-stored

Joel

Not anymore: