Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2013, 05:08 PM
lownotesinc lownotesinc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 206
Default Help with 192 i/o Input Calibration, Please

If I send a 0 vu (+4) test tone into my 192 i/o via it's analog (+4) inputs, should the meter in the Pro Tools 10.3.5 session channel strip show 0 vu as well?
I thought it should. (?)
Mine does not. I'm trying to diagnose and fix this. If I connect to the 192's
-10 analog input at send a 0 vu test signal to a session input it reads -10 on the channel strip.
I've tried turning the calibration screws at the rear of the 192 and nothing changes, at the 192's input meter or my session's channel strip input meter.

Is my 192 broken or do I need to do something else to get a 0vu test signal to read 0 vu at the session's input strip.

Mac OS 10.6.8
PT HD 10.3.5
Pro Mac 8 core (4,1) 17GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2013, 09:25 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: Help with 192 i/o Input Calibration, Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by lownotesinc View Post
If I send a 0 vu (+4) test tone into my 192 i/o via it's analog (+4) inputs, should the meter in the Pro Tools 10.3.5 session channel strip show 0 vu as well? ...
PT meters are not VU, they display dB below digital full scale (dBFS). Meter display will depend on calibration, but typical is -18dBFS = 0VU = +4dBu.

Read the calibration section in the 192 reference guide.

best,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14.6, PT 2021.10 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
192 Input Calibration pktele Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-11-2006 04:02 PM
Protools Calibration Mode: low analog input levels SoundReplay Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-20-2006 12:38 PM
192 i/o calibration i_diom Post - Surround - Video 3 10-12-2005 05:09 AM
What are you using for Calibration?? SHIRK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-23-2003 12:26 AM
OO1 input calibration trouble Baixo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-18-2000 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com