Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2009, 07:31 AM
tycho tycho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Replacement motherboard for 001 with LE 5.3.1

Hoping someone can offer advice here....I know very little about computers except how to use them, so don't get too geeky on me.

I've been running a Digi 001 with Pro Tools LE 5.3.1 on a P4 (2.4GHZ 478 pin 533 bus), the motherboard is an Asus P4B533. OS is XP service pack 1.

Old school I know, but it does *everything* I need it to do very well and very reliably. Until yesterday when the system wouldn't boot. My repair guy says the motherboard is dead.

To keep things economical I would ideally like to keep the existing system and replace the dead motherboard with a new one. The P4B533 isn't available new anymore that I can see - can anyone recommend a replacement motherboard that will install with a minimum of problems regarding getting 5.3.1 up and running again?

Last edited by tycho; 01-15-2009 at 07:33 AM. Reason: Clarify info.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2009, 10:09 AM
sbag sbag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Louisville, Ky. Vest End
Posts: 375
Default Re: Replacement motherboard for 001 with LE 5.3.1

you may be able to replace the motherboard > it could get tricky > the size
and is compatible should be what you need to establish first > also check with the manufacture to see if you can upgrade > also google that motherboard you may find a oem board for it >



and trust me i had a sony vaio p4 rs510 do the same thing and it was headache

so i got a new one
__________________
Gear>
C8, 002, Trigger Finger, Kontrol 49, Apc 40
SW >
Pt 8, Reason 5, Recycle 2.1, Ableton Live Suite 8.02
Plugs >
All Registered plug in's & Vinyl out the wazoo. Mp3 sucks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:37 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,936
Default Re: Replacement motherboard for 001 with LE 5.3.1

If you swap in a motherboard with a different chipset than the one that's in there now, Windows will NOT start, and you'll have to re-load everything. So in this case, upgrade really means "start over." Check Ebay for a p4b-533????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2009, 05:32 PM
tycho tycho is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Replacement motherboard for 001 with LE 5.3.1

Yeah - I'm getting the feeling that it's gonna get messy.

How about running the 001 from a Core2Duo? There's lots of info on the site about running 002 but less for 001....?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2009, 05:49 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Replacement motherboard for 001 with LE 5.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by tycho View Post
Yeah - I'm getting the feeling that it's gonna get messy.
Messier than you can even imagine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tycho View Post
How about running the 001 from a Core2Duo? There's lots of info on the site about running 002 but less for 001....?
The 001 itself, and support for it, was discontinued long, long ago. There are quite a few of them still in service, but many 001 owners who have needed a computer upgrade have preferred upgrading to supported hardware as well, as it is just easier and more economical in the long run.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ptle8.0 vista system-replacement motherboard advice montezuma 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-30-2012 01:35 PM
Motherboard suggestions? (Intel Socket 775 - Asus P5B Replacement) Fireball71 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-17-2011 06:08 PM
Motherboard suggestions? (Intel Socket 775 - Asus P5B Replacement) Fireball71 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 09-30-2011 09:19 AM
Best Replacement Motherboard For Quad Core Q6600 Build? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-24-2010 08:56 PM
Accel Card with G4 Replacement Motherboard RocknReady Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-08-2004 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com