Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2012, 12:33 PM
Nathan W. Nathan W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 512
Default Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

Anybody using this in conjunction with an iMac? Basically have 2 HDx cards connected to an iMac using this box instead of a MacPro. Really cool setup!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2012, 04:03 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,838
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

It's not available yet, so it's hard to know how it works.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2012, 07:45 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,135
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan W. View Post
Anybody using this in conjunction with an iMac? Basically have 2 HDx cards connected to an iMac using this box instead of a MacPro. Really cool setup!
Apparently it's possible:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fb...864.7635872524

But no confirmation from Avid as to whether they are using shipping software.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2012, 02:29 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,383
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
It's not available yet, so it's hard to know how it works.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uw_jB...ature=youtu.be
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2013, 04:29 AM
Sameti Sameti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 5
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

Hi, I wonder about exactly the same.

Anything new?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2013, 07:02 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,852
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sameti View Post
Hi, I wonder about exactly the same.

Anything new?
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/c...m-Requirements

Can't seen what the difference would be between a iMac or MacBook Pro with TB.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-05-2013, 09:25 AM
Sameti Sameti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 5
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

True, I agree! But I would feel more safe buying iMac if Avid mentioned iMac as a supported mac too. I wonder if theres a reason. I haven't read any comment from users about iMac and Hdx yet, but Ive seen people sharing good experience about Mac Mini and Macbook Pro.

But as you mentioned earlier, iMac may have fan noise.

My earlier mac is dead so I have to decide what mac to buy with hdx, and this is not the best time for mac pro. I hope there will be any information about iMac soon.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2013, 05:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,981
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sameti View Post
True, I agree! But I would feel more safe buying iMac if Avid mentioned iMac as a supported mac too. I wonder if theres a reason. I haven't read any comment from users about iMac and Hdx yet, but Ive seen people sharing good experience about Mac Mini and Macbook Pro.

But as you mentioned earlier, iMac may have fan noise.

My earlier mac is dead so I have to decide what mac to buy with hdx, and this is not the best time for mac pro. I hope there will be any information about iMac soon.

Thanks
In an interview at the recent NAMM it was mentioned about the Magama EB3T being okayed for use with MacBook Pros. When Tony Cariddi asked if it was okayed for iMacs the person being interviewed not yet as Avid had only tested with the MBP. It should work though it has not gotten the official imprimatur yet.

See this interview:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YSV1...em-uploademail
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2013, 05:15 AM
peeweedrummer peeweedrummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

so any word if it works on an imac yet? in particular my imac version 12,1?

i would love to pull the trigger on a hdx1 with a magma chassis but need to know compatibility first.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-2013, 10:31 AM
Henrik Andersson Henrik Andersson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 13
Default Re: Magma ExpressBox 3T HDX Compatible with iMac?

Been running an iMac 12.2 (3,4GHz, 27" mid 2011) with an HDX 1 fitted in the Magma 3T since August 2012. I haven't had any problems since the -9171/-9172 errors were "resolved" with the latest release of Pro Tools.

We even have a triple monitor setup with one monitor directly connected to one TB port on the i Mac and the second monitor daisy chained on the 3T.

Check out and like :) our Facebookpage for som images..
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tonic-...00125126665272
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone tried HDX with Magma ExpressBox 3T? janmuths Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 37 06-06-2020 11:52 PM
Some info on using Magma Expressbox 3T ronwasserman Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 01-21-2014 11:07 AM
Magma Expressbox 3T fan noise boxedin Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 05-28-2013 05:42 AM
Will Magma ExpressBox 3T add latency? digidesigner Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 02-19-2013 06:22 PM
Magma ExpressBox 3T musicman691 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 05-04-2012 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com