Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2003, 11:09 PM
gg gg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
Default Memory Usage

Hello All,

Is there a way to tell PTLE to use more RAM? Even when running a Davec test my memory usage never exceeds 53%. I have half a gig available - would it not be advantageous to use more of it? I've got a fast processor but I can't get past 29 tracks with 6.1 on my 002.

Mobo: Intel D850EMV2
Proc: P4 2.53 Meg
Bus: 533
Ram: 512 Meg
Video: MSI FX5600 (256 Meg)
Drive: LaCie 80 Gig


Thanks,
gg
__________________
D950 3400 Mhz
Ram 3072 Mb
Digi 002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2003, 11:50 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Memory Usage

About the only thing I can think of which increases your memory usage is DAE Playback Buffer. But I don't expect it will increase your track count. PTLE just doesn't need that much RAM.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2003, 11:38 PM
gg gg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 32
Default Re: Memory Usage

Quote:
About the only thing I can think of which increases your memory usage is DAE Playback Buffer. But I don't expect it will increase your track count. PTLE just doesn't need that much RAM.
Tele Player,

Thanks for the reply.
In view of your response then I guess there is no benefit at all to having more than a half gig of Ram in a Protools system. Can anyone suggest any reason for expanding beyond that?

Thanks,
Gary
__________________
D950 3400 Mhz
Ram 3072 Mb
Digi 002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2003, 12:20 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Memory Usage

Memory is dynamically allocated in Windows and OS X.. the more regions you have and the more overviews which are kept in memory.. the more RAM is allocated. I recently edited a live show which was 32 tracks and continuous regions for over an hour which required a huge amount of RAM (about 800 megs).. generally I believe the overview is the number of samples for the region divided by 256 for each region in the session... each value uses 4 bytes. The more undos you have in your prefs also ups the amount of RAM Pro Tools requires.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2003, 01:39 AM
Calvin Calvin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,471
Default Re: Memory Usage

Also you will use a lot more ram if you are using a sequencing pluggin such as the DR-008, or Battery. These pluggins load entire sound sets into ram so that they can be accessed as quickly as possible.
__________________
Calvin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM memory usage in PT9 / MAC OS Eekay macOS 45 01-20-2011 06:39 PM
64-bit memory usage Ben Hunt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-07-2010 03:29 PM
memory usage? headphono Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 03-07-2008 06:03 PM
Why does memory usage go up every second? brianjanthony Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 11-07-2006 09:07 AM
memory and cpu usage gargoyle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-13-2001 02:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com