Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2003, 11:03 PM
roryrok roryrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: austin, texas
Posts: 8
Default Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

im running a digi001 system on a dual 1ghz G4 and ive just installed protools 6 and when i open old sessions there are random full volume white noise explosions about half a second in length all over previously created sessions...

when i create new sessions tracks randomly drop out and fade back in and protools will randomly quit unexpectedly...

these are simple files with no automation, ive checked all my cable connections and moved my PCI card to a different slot. i've formatted my hard drive, reinstalled OSX and protoools, and the problem is still there exactly the same.

my system is a stock dual 1ghz processor G4 with an apple installed SCSI harddrive, my IDE drive is partitioned into OSX and OS9 sections. My OS9 5.1.1 version of protools works flawlessly.

as you can see im kinda out of ideas... am i the only person with this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2003, 11:32 PM
roryrok roryrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: austin, texas
Posts: 8
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

also...

im running OSX 10.2.4

i'm NOT using any waves plugins (i read some other threads with similar problems, and that was the culprit in those cases)

ive encountered these problems with a freshly formatted drive with only OSX and protools installed on it
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2003, 11:36 PM
nostatic nostatic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 233
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

I get the same thing with both MBox and 001 systems, new and old sessions. Haven't been able to figure it out yet, but I haven't tried very hard...I just use other software. Luckily I had a noise reduction project I had to use PT6 for and it behaved, but it was only 2 mono tracks. Seems like it starts to happen once I get 4 or more tracks going.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2003, 11:41 PM
CCash CCash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,423
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

Search the answer base (links above) for white noise. These may or may not explain your particular problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2003, 12:01 AM
roryrok roryrok is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: austin, texas
Posts: 8
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

i searched a great many topics in the answerbase and came up with nothing... almost everything there was still addressing OS9 issues anyway, but i couldnt find anything helpful for OSX or anything i hadnt already tried
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2003, 02:09 AM
StainedClass StainedClass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 218
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

It makes scense that you did not find anything because we are on the bleeding edge.

If I call Digi support I get this...."uhhhh, could you hold please?' when I ask a basic question. the fact is, the people I get through to have no idea whats going on. they are just logging "incidents" and saying "we will work on it."

Some agents dont even know where basic interface items are. thats a far cry from the support I used to get with my first rig. I used to consider it the best support around....now its not worth the long distance. All questions end up getting ansewred here.
__________________
StainedClass SC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2003, 05:46 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 1,032
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

I've had the same problem with a PowerBook/MBox setup. I used to be able to run off a SmartDisk FireLite 40 Gig firewire even though it was only 4200rpm when using 5.2/OS 9.2.2. When I tried the same in OSX/PT6 I would ramdomly have these blasts of white noise that would make me rip my headphones off! First I thought it was the Waves plugins, but it was not. It was the drive. I can run off the internal system drive or a faster FireWire drive with no white noise.

The crashes and quits I'm still figuring out. So far, this setup is NOT stable enough for primetime.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.6, PT2021.12, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.15.6, PT2021.12, BabyFacePro FS
M1 PRO MacBook Pro OS 12.1, PT2021.12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2003, 06:33 AM
Kling3 Kling3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 378
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

Well here is my experience-

I originally installed PT6 LE on a G4/466 OS 10.2.3 only, no OS9 on board. I swapped the internal IDE that I was using in my G3/450 with PT 5.1.1. I had a constant white noise that was way beyond normal along with a pop when PT was launched. The white noise was interrupted with mouse movements or any window changes or interface movements.

Someone suggested making sure I used balanced outs. So I bypassed my Mackie and low and behold the white noise was almost silent. Certainly within normal specs. Still had pop on launch however. I repatched my Mackie VLZ with balanced outs to the monitor amp and everything was still good. Why the difference between CPU's with regard to white noise and using balanced lines or not? I don't know. I never had this problem with my B&W G3 running 5.1.1. Do mother boards, chip sets, power supplies etc. play into this at all?

Last week I bought a new G4/dual 1.25 firewire 800, OSX (10.2.3) version only. Everything is quiet as a mouse! The dual processor makes a huge difference in performance. The CPU meter barely registers with PT demo. Smoooth! All my 5.1.1 sessions open up and play flawlessly. I have not upgraded Waves plugs yet so I don't know what effect the may have.

Check Digi compatibility docs with regard to your CPU, hard drive formatting specs etc. There is lots to pore over all. Use balanced line outs to the monitor at least. See if that helps. Good luck.
__________________
002r/MacPro 2.8/8-core/10.6.4/PTLE 8.0.4/two internal 500gig drives/8GB ram.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2003, 08:14 AM
Baked Goods Records Baked Goods Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 56
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

I have the randow white noise blasts.. and random ramping up and down of volume too.. This way annoying.. I am usuing waves plugins.. But I have a feeling it has nothing to do with that.. I am using an internal scsi hard drive so I doubt its a firewire problem.. Who knows what it is..

Any word Digi?

G4 dual 500
512meg ram
digi001
osx 10.2.4

Any help would be apreciated
-James
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2003, 08:38 AM
logicprobe logicprobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 36
Default Re: Protools 6 white noise blasts - little help?

James
Try using only IDE or FireWire drives. It may be a problem pulling audio off of SCSI.


lp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blasts of White Noise & Pops drasmith Windows 7 08-09-2011 11:43 PM
Blasts of white noise and sync errors??! sknoof 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 02-05-2010 07:52 PM
Random Blasts of White Noise TNDoug 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-14-2007 11:42 AM
Blasts of white noise in LE systems. Forever? easyb Tips & Tricks 26 02-02-2007 07:38 AM
White Hot M-BOX Noise Blasts! Please Help! Derek Doublin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-17-2004 11:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com