Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2021, 05:17 PM
tomaspal tomaspal is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 15
Default Clicks and Pops on Import Audio in 2021.10

I haven't yet dived too deep into the issue here, but I've noticed a couple times since updating to 2021.10 (on Mojave), when importing an MP3 (I've only noticed it when importing a full music track, but that's the majority of audio imports that I do) I get clicks and pops throughout the file. I've noticed that these files show in the Import Audio window as 32-bit, but if I try to import the same MP3 on another Mojave system running 2020.9, it shows it as 16-bit and does not produce any clicks or pops when it is imported. Again, I haven't yet tried to find the common denominator with the audio files here yet, but I wanted to see if anyone else was experiencing the same. I couldn't find anything in a DUC search.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2021, 07:25 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15,444
Default Re: Clicks and Pops on Import Audio in 2021.10

Things to think about: Are you absolutely sure the click and pops are actually in the imported MP3? Like can you see them on the waveform?

There is something a little strange/different going on with identification of MP3s in the import dialog, that's been noted by myself and others in other threads. But MP3's don't really have a bit depth so what Pro Tools reports should not matter. And if Pro Tools was actually getting the conversion wrong because it misidentified the type of file you would be hearing a lot worse then pops and clicks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2021, 03:06 PM
nhaudio nhaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 78
Default Re: Clicks and Pops on Import Audio in 2021.10

I just ran into this issue today. Imported multiple .mp3 files. Most were fine but one or two came in with clicks and pops... lots of timing errors. I can't see any difference in those files compared to those that were fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2021, 05:05 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,740
Default Re: Clicks and Pops on Import Audio in 2021.10

are you also seeing a short freeze of the GUI when you select these problematic files during the import process ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2021, 05:24 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,932
Default Re: Clicks and Pops on Import Audio in 2021.10

FYI, and I cannot tell you more, there is an investigation going on about import errors currently. Sit tight.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2021, 04:06 PM
tomaspal tomaspal is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 15
Default Re: Clicks and Pops on Import Audio in 2021.10

Tweakhead, yes I can see the errors in the waveform. It looks like just a few samples of silence here and there. Manually drawing them out will sometimes work.

JFreak, thanks! Glad to know I’m not alone in this one.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-28-2021, 08:57 AM
AudioNerdz772 AudioNerdz772 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Re: Clicks and Pops on Import Audio in 2021.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
FYI, and I cannot tell you more, there is an investigation going on about import errors currently. Sit tight.

JFreak do you know a work around. I updated my ultimate system for m1 compatibility and I cannot import anything without clicks and pops.
Some files are even worse they completely change the audio and it’s just Wierd beeping noises.
It’s hard to sit tight. My clients are looking at me crazy when they hear pops every 5 seconds while tracking.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
audio Pops & clicks outside DAW Toon Develtere General Discussion 3 12-11-2017 01:32 PM
Audio glitches, 'clicks pops' Krawczik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 11-04-2012 04:35 AM
Clicks/pops in audio Fullsound Recording Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 10-16-2008 12:39 PM
clicks and pops on audio in 6.4 xp TonyGoolah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-05-2005 09:37 AM
Clicks & Pops in Audio. roberts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-25-2004 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com