Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2014, 04:08 PM
SidBarone SidBarone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default UA pre amp with fast track solo

i apologize if this Q has already been asked:

Q: would i be gaining much sound quality by plugging a Universal Audio mic pre amp into the fast track solo interface?
Thanks in advance!
Sid.
__________________
Protools 11
MOTU Interface
iMac 27" 2011, 3.4 GHz, 16GB, OSX 10.13
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2014, 10:00 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,618
Default Re: UA pre amp with fast track solo

Quote:
Originally Posted by SidBarone View Post
i apologize if this Q has already been asked:

Q: would i be gaining much sound quality by plugging a Universal Audio mic pre amp into the fast track solo interface?
Thanks in advance!
Sid.
Possibly, but it looks like the FTS only has a mic in and instrument in, and assuming you don't overload the signal coming into the FTS from a line level source, the signal is still running through the FTS preamp. Assuming the FTS pre is inferior (which it probably is), it could further degrade the quality of the signal coming from the UA. If it were me, I probably wouldn't use a setup like that long-term. It would be better to at least get an interface that accepts line level inputs IMHO.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)

TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2014, 12:29 AM
SidBarone SidBarone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Default Re: UA pre amp with fast track solo

Thanks for your reply Chris.
I was afraid of that. Unfortunately, I now have a beautiful pre amp which is useless without upgrading the interface. Oh well, se la' vie!
Sid.
__________________
Protools 11
MOTU Interface
iMac 27" 2011, 3.4 GHz, 16GB, OSX 10.13
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track Solo + iPad Alex TCH FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 10 01-25-2015 08:22 PM
Fast Track Solo/Duo And PT 11 GTBannah FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 10 01-16-2015 09:26 PM
PT express/Fast Track Solo Clef_de_fa Pro Tools Express on Windows 1 03-24-2014 06:55 AM
Fast Track Solo - no output Elnico50 FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 12-17-2013 06:01 PM
Avid Fast Track Solo Lombardi FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 09-09-2013 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com