Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-28-2011, 02:54 PM
hellbert hellbert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Great Britain (UK)
Posts: 22
Default play flashes then stops. session wont play.

i have recently upgraded from pro tools 8 to PT9 and after finally getting everything sorted I have a problem getting my sessions to play. When i press play the play button flashes once then the stop button flashes and nothing happens. There is no error message or anything. The I/O settings are correct and it is recognising my hard drive in the I/O window fine.

I have tried both old pro tools 8 sessions and new PT9 ones i have created for test purposes and no joy... any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2011, 03:13 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,615
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

What interface?
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
FocusritePro 40 (2)

TCE Studio Konnekt 48
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2011, 03:38 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,510
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

Did you select Wait for Midi note? Spend a little time with the manual. Open up the big transport window and uncheck the clock symbol?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2011, 03:42 PM
hellbert hellbert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Great Britain (UK)
Posts: 22
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

focusrite saffire pro 24 interface.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2011, 03:49 PM
hellbert hellbert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Great Britain (UK)
Posts: 22
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

no i haven't selected anything.. the wait for midi note is unselected.

I appreciate that i need to spend time with the manual but surely everything should just play upon opening. The I/O settings are correct, and no eror is popping up
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2011, 06:04 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellbert View Post
no i haven't selected anything.. the wait for midi note is unselected.

I appreciate that i need to spend time with the manual but surely everything should just play upon opening. The I/O settings are correct, and no eror is popping up
Try defaulting your IO Setups.

If that doesn't help, give us specific info on where your tracks are routed and what your IO Setups looks like on the Output tab.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2011, 05:22 AM
hellbert hellbert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Great Britain (UK)
Posts: 22
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

defaulted the I/O setup and nothing has changed with regards to playback.

All tracks are routed to output 1-2. In the output tab the output 1-2 is routed to out 1 and 2 on my saffire.

I am pretty sure it is not a routing issue as it is not just a case of me not hearing anything, but a case of the session just not playing at all.

I would post images by the way but am not sure how. It says I may not post attachments under posting rules for some reason. If anyone knows how i change this, it would be very helpful with regards to communicating my problems. cheers
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2011, 07:41 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,510
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

One way to post images is to upload them to a free photobucket account and link to them in your post.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:16 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

Do you get playback from other applications with the Saffire?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2011, 10:17 AM
hellbert hellbert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Great Britain (UK)
Posts: 22
Default Re: play flashes then stops. session wont play.

yes it works fine with everything.

It must be a setting or something within pro tools, im sure. the timebar doesn't move at all. It is not just a case of me not hearing anything.

Quote:
One way to post images is to upload them to a free photobucket account and link to them in your post.
... cheers .. shall do that in future.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Music won't play. Play button flashes and Stop button lights up Mattitude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 24 04-16-2020 04:03 PM
Session wont play Featherstone Pro Tools 10 5 07-20-2013 01:34 PM
Pro tools 10.1 I open session tracks wont play says output map is currently inactive shamanrock Windows 16 01-23-2013 07:22 PM
Play button flashes before starting jonathans9 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-19-2008 03:09 PM
My session wont play -7401 dae error MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-28-2004 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com