Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2005, 09:10 AM
Glenn75 Glenn75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 81
Default 192 and 888 system: Do I need a clock?

I am think about buying an 888 to run alongside my 192 for mixing duties. The 888 will provide 8 extra outs so I can mix 16 channels of analog through my desk.
Should I consider an external clock to sync the 192 and 888 together, or should I just use the clock from the 192? What kind of differences should I expect?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2005, 09:43 AM
Andre Knecht Andre Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: 192 and 888 system: Do I need a clock?

You won’t need an external clock. Save the money for a second 192 I/O, down the road. The main differences will be the coming from the different sound of the converters.

IHTH.
__________________
Andre Knecht

We’ll fix it in the shrink-wrap. (Frank Zappa)

.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2005, 05:46 PM
Monte McGuire Monte McGuire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Malden, MA USA
Posts: 292
Default Re: 192 and 888 system: Do I need a clock?

Quote:
I am think about buying an 888 to run alongside my 192 for mixing duties. The 888 will provide 8 extra outs so I can mix 16 channels of analog through my desk.
Should I consider an external clock to sync the 192 and 888 together, or should I just use the clock from the 192? What kind of differences should I expect?
Sorry if it's obvious, but you want to get the 888|24, and not just an 888. The old 888 not only sounded awful, but it won't work with an HD system. The 888|24 will work on the legacy port (actually, two of them will with a 'Y' cable) but they don't sound very good, especially the DACs.

Why not get an extra card for your 192 to add 8 modern DACs?? They'll surely sound better than an 888|24! Or how about a lightpipe DAC to attach to your 192?


Best of luck,

-monte-
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2005, 02:02 AM
Glenn75 Glenn75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 81
Default Re: 192 and 888 system: Do I need a clock?

Quote:


Sorry if it's obvious, but you want to get the 888|24, and not just an 888. The old 888 not only sounded awful, but it won't work with an HD system. The 888|24 will work on the legacy port (actually, two of them will with a 'Y' cable) but they don't sound very good, especially the DACs.

Why not get an extra card for your 192 to add 8 modern DACs?? They'll surely sound better than an 888|24! Or how about a lightpipe DAC to attach to your 192?


Best of luck,

-monte-
Thank you for the advice. I was considering the 888|24 because the cost is much lower for me at the moment and until I get enough jobs under my belt to pay for another 192, the 888 route seems to make more sense economically. I have my 192 loaded with 16 analog inputs, so I can't fit the optional 8 DAC card in unfortunately.
I can use the lightpipe to send audio to an external dac if it would sound better than the 888|24. Would it? If so, are there any decent convertors for under a grand?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help connect master clock to tdm system musicmixer04 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-28-2011 12:12 PM
Clock issue in cue system .Popping sol_daddy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-25-2011 04:00 PM
OT: Forum clock vs. system clock Media Man Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-23-2009 10:40 PM
Word Clock Connections in HD3 system AVL SYSTEMS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-11-2006 12:04 PM
HD vs Mix system with good clock & verters Sjoko Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 05-20-2002 05:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com