Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2005, 04:44 PM
Glenn75 Glenn75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 81
Default Archiving and running a session at the same time?

I am archiving my main firewire hard drive to DVDs right now and I have a session tonight with some vocalists. Is it ok to run the session off of another firewire drive at the same time that Apple Backup is archiving the first drive? I am not sure if it will bog down the session or god forbid crash the whole system.
G5 dual 2.0
HD2 PT 6.7
OS 10.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2005, 11:48 PM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: Archiving and running a session at the same time?

I would suggest NOT running a session with anything else happening in the background. .
__________________
~ 2019 Rack Mac Pro 3.2 GHz 16 core 384 GB RAM Catalina 10.15.7 / Pro Tools Ultimate 20.12.0 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO+QUAD / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Digidesign Pre's x 3 / Avid S6 M10-24 -V20.11.1.10 ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / Magma PE6R4 ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:45 PM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: Archiving and running a session at the same ti

It could go either way. I would take the original advice given to you and do not have anything else going on. There are a zillion things that could interfere with your session and stagnate or crash it. Best to save your archiving tasks for another time. If you are concerned about it taking too much time and effort by archiving with DVDs, you might consider archiving to hard drives. I know that this is not considered a "hard" copy but drives are so cheap now that you can archive fast, and it can cost you less in time, effort (i.e. being around all the time inserting DVDrs) and in overall cost. I always back up two to three times anyway, so if an archived drive were to Have not experienced any trouble yet this way. A also have a friend who works 60 hour weeks in the studio with sessions ranging from 60-128 tracks, and he uses this method now too. I know it's not everybody's chosen method, but it's been working for us, and saving a lot of time and money. Just a thought.
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
message reads I/O setup has changed since last time session was opened last time peteor96 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-05-2011 09:29 PM
First Time running PT on Mac CharlieX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-12-2009 03:06 PM
Session Archiving Rudy Michael Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 09-22-2004 08:12 PM
Archiving session for backup problem... Booyah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-11-2003 04:36 PM
Session Archiving - Nero won't burn disc blizzard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-25-2003 12:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com