Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2005, 04:40 PM
Glenn75 Glenn75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 81
Default Going from 24bit to 16bit

I have a pretty good layback mix that is at 24bit 48k. What is the best way to send this mix down to 16bit 44.1? Can I just select the stereo file and "Export Region as File" Or should I do a bounce with Pow-R dither? I'm not sure which would be best. All help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2005, 02:58 AM
xsnell xsnell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: England
Posts: 17
Default Re: Going from 24bit to 16bit

Hi there,

Don't do sample rate conversion and bit depth changes at the same time in ProTools. You will get better results by first changing the sample rate without dither and then doing the bit depth reduction with dither afterwards.

Mr. X
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:36 AM
frenchman frenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 531
Default Re: Going from 24bit to 16bit

Quality-wise, Mr. X is right, but this procedure implies re-importing the 24 bit / 44.1k file into a 24 / 441 session and dithering to 16 from there.

The shortest way is to do both at the same time in the Bounce to disk procedure, while having a dither plugin set to 16 bit on the master fader. The quality loss at that stage remains small
__________________
Mark Haliday
Engineer, Mixer, Writer, Teacher
Pro Tools Ultimate HDX
Mac Pro 2013 & Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2005, 05:32 AM
Samo Samo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 24
Default Re: Going from 24bit to 16bit

Hi... I think MrX is right since you are doing it only for demo use both at the same time but if you doing for master you really dont want to apply dither during samplerate conversion thats why you are doing it seperate and downsample it at first !!!! form 24/48 to 24/44.1 and than make new session with 24/44.1 and not convert durring import but only add the files than you are sure that you are not converting to anything and than convert bit-depth to 16 with applyed dither...

I heard a lot of guys can hear differents btw <do it at ones> and <correct procedure>. I didnt tried that yet !!!

Have Fun, Samo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16bit vs 24bit TwinSnakes007 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-14-2008 07:39 PM
44.1? 48? 96? 16bit? 24bit? rcook349 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-25-2006 03:22 PM
Export 24bit to 16bit Digitalkidd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-20-2005 11:39 AM
16bit or 24bit, 44.1 or 48, how should I operate? hilliard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-01-2004 12:56 PM
Best way to get from 24bit/44.1 to 16bit/44.1? Tone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-09-2003 12:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com