Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2005, 03:13 AM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

I have quite a few pres, compressors etc., I'd like to hook up to a patchbay. I'm not familiar with the various models, but I know it might be between the XLR, 1/4 inch or TT Bantam.

Any opinions on this subject?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:15 AM
Mystic Mystic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 43
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

I'd take a bantam PB. You have 96 point on a 1 U rack space instead of 12 XR's. Bantam and jack are also able to ben normalled, half normalled, paralel or open. XLR is always "open".
__________________
Mystic
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2005, 07:05 AM
docric docric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 438
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

Hey Dean,

Good to see ya' here!
Personally, I went with a tt bay for size reasons. (space is at a premium here.)

I've been really happy with the Signex Isopatch Pro series. I've been using one of their 96 pt. tt bays for about a year now without any troubles. Most of the gear here at the studio already terminated in 25 pin Dsub connectors (which is what the Signex model I have terminates to), so this was a good fit.
Bittree and ADC also make good patrchbays, but the Bittree stuff is pricey.

See ya',
Rick
__________________
-C' ya'
Rick

MacPro 7,1; 16 core; 192 Gb RAM; 4x 1 TB NVMe OWC Accelsior; OSX Catalina
PT 2021.3 Ult.
Burl MS / PT Dock/ Avid S1/2x iPad Air2/ Avid|Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:16 AM
sukks2bu sukks2bu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 293
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

Hello, first I would like to state that when you decide to put a patch bay in a studio, its all or nothing. What I meen is, once you put your pre and comps on the PB, then your gonna want your tape in/outs there also, while your at it, Might as well do the whole console.

Anyway, the 1/4 in balance PB from Neutric are sweet for the price. The other thing to consider is the cost of the cables. 1 1/2 foot battams are like $15 each or more. Good 1/4 balanced cables will be much less.

So, if you do everything "in the box" and dont use a console, then do you need 96 points?
Neutric has 48 points and can be normaled easily just by flipint the individual slots. Very handy and easy to do. I strongly recomend them.
Neutric bays are also under $100 while any decent TT PB will be $200 and up.

Hope this helps
__________________
Powermac 9600/300 768mg ram OS 9.1.2, PTmix3 V5.1.3, 888/24, Adatbridge, 882/20, PSX-100, BigBen
MacBookPro 1.8ghz 2gig ram OSX tiger, Mbox2 PT V.7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:51 AM
Jeff D. Jeff D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 805
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

I think you need at least 96 points.

ProTools in/out w/1 expanded 192 interface = 24 points
Monitor controller, headphone amps, misc, = 8 points
Mic pre's 16 channels = 16 points
Outboard gear in/out = 32 points
DAT machine, cassette, CD players, VCR in/out = 16 points

Total = 96 points

And that's with no synths or console on the patchbay (I run synths into the -10 inputs on the 192).

Good luck,

Jeff D.
__________________
www.jephthastudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2005, 11:41 AM
lancejorton lancejorton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 446
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

i got the Signex Pro (blue frame) from Redco and LOVE IT. instead of wiring up front, you can get it with DSUBs on the back so you just add snakes (or change them) as you need to. with Mogami patch cable and snakes, i couldn't tell the difference between this and straight wire.

http://www.redco.com/tt_patchbays_price.asp

--
lance
__________________
--
lance
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2005, 12:37 PM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

Thanks for the information...

Can somone explain points and the difference between them?

I'm working on a Control 24, so there's no need to patch the console, as I only use the faders, and a few other functions.
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2005, 01:36 PM
Imagine Imagine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toluca Lake, CA
Posts: 1,334
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

Quote:
i got the Signex Pro (blue frame) from Redco and LOVE IT. instead of wiring up front, you can get it with DSUBs on the back so you just add snakes (or change them) as you need to. with Mogami patch cable and snakes, i couldn't tell the difference between this and straight wire.

http://www.redco.com/tt_patchbays_price.asp

--
lance
Lance-

Are you referring to the Signex Isopatch PRO 96 point TT Front/DSUB Rear Patchbay $450.00 ?

Thx
__________________
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2005, 02:44 PM
JSR JSR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 473
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

I would suggest getting a 96 point ADC TT with remote punch block. I love mine, I've had no problems at all, and the punch block method is great; extremly fast...no soldering. I would check out Mr. Patchbay (http://home.flash.net/~motodata/patchbays/ttbantam.html) he has amazing prices on bay's and patch cables. The ADC will give you a true wired point to point connection which is the best for crosstalk (it's how most pro studios are done). The Redco and simillar DB-25 terminated boxes use printed circuit boards inside to carry signal from the jack to the DB-25; they do this to cut costs. PCB's will not give you as good crosstalk performance as each signal being carried on a shielded cable as in the ADC. The traces on the boards inside are extremely thin and close together.

Anyway, hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:34 PM
lancejorton lancejorton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 446
Default Re: Any suggestions for a \"Patchbay\"?

Quote:
Quote:
i got the Signex Pro (blue frame) from Redco and LOVE IT. instead of wiring up front, you can get it with DSUBs on the back so you just add snakes (or change them) as you need to. with Mogami patch cable and snakes, i couldn't tell the difference between this and straight wire.

http://www.redco.com/tt_patchbays_price.asp

--
lance
Lance-

Are you referring to the Signex Isopatch PRO 96 point TT Front/DSUB Rear Patchbay $450.00 ?

Thx
yep. that's the one. talk to Chris at Redco. he hooked me up. buy it as a package and he'll give you a deal.

--
lance
__________________
--
lance
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIR Patchbay RussUK Virtual Instruments 46 10-09-2014 08:28 PM
patchbay or not...help !!! dw Tips & Tricks 10 12-06-2003 08:08 AM
to patchbay or not to patchbay (micpres) Camilo Orozco Tips & Tricks 10 12-07-2001 12:51 AM
TT patchbay, or TRS? blake eat world Tips & Tricks 6 06-15-2001 01:33 AM
Suggestions for patchbay-less studio???? funkwrench 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-03-2000 01:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com