Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-25-2021, 05:32 PM
joeshepard joeshepard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 38
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Its looking like it causes issues with the screen on multiple different EUCON surfaces old and new. Investigating.
Do you think this is something that Avid might be able to address or do we have to wait on an Apple update?

Thanks,

Joe
__________________
Late 2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB memory, 1TB SSD
MAC OS 10.15.7
UA Apollo 8 Quad Blackface, UA TB Octo Satellite
Pro Tools 2021.6.1
EuCon 2021.6
Logic Pro 10.6.2
2 Artist Mixes
Pro Tools Dock

Last edited by joeshepard; 07-26-2021 at 11:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-26-2021, 09:33 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,337
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

We have already made a workaround but we need Apple's help on the issue before we can be certain. I'll keep updating this thread when I know more.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-26-2021, 12:42 PM
stevenbb stevenbb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Leicester, U.K
Posts: 2
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Very sad, too late to see this post. my Mac OS 10.15.7, after the latest security update, my artist mix display are all unreadable, please provide a work around asap? many thanks Avid team!!!
__________________
Early 2015 Macbook Pro 13" 2.7 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5
Amount of Memory installed: 8 GB 1867 MHz DDR3

OS version: Mac OS 10.15.5
Avid hardware model:- Artist Mix
Pro Tools 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-26-2021, 03:03 PM
JeremyG JeremyG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 22
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Darn it. Same thing, S3 bright yellow lights, ugh. Let us know when there's a fix for this, thank you Eddie
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-26-2021, 09:22 PM
mooreshawn13 mooreshawn13 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

AVID logo on OLED on startup, yellow squares once EuControl is opened. Everything else works fine in PT (faders, pan, etc.)

AVID Artist Mix x2

MacOS Catalina 10.15.7 - latest security update
iMac Pro
3gHz 10-Core Intel Xeon W
64GB memory
Radeon Pro Vega 56 8GB

One TB-3 display connected

Wish I could go back on the security update!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-26-2021, 11:18 PM
Guitarmusica.com's Avatar
Guitarmusica.com Guitarmusica.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 7
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

ditto on the solid yellow OLEDS on S3 after the security update
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-27-2021, 08:36 AM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 363
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

27" iMac with a 2nd display, S1 with iPad , and an AVID Dock with iPad. OS Catalina 10.15.7
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-28-2021, 01:49 AM
Leoespejo Leoespejo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: España
Posts: 16
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
We have already made a workaround but we need Apple's help on the issue before we can be certain. I'll keep updating this thread when I know more.

Same problem here, I've seen this post to late.

Let us know something, please!!! S3 unreadable...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-28-2021, 02:45 AM
island man island man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines
Posts: 36
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

same problem here after Mojave security update

AVID S1 all OLED lit up.

10.14.6
PT Ultimate 2020.11
OMNI HD Native

Last edited by island man; 07-28-2021 at 02:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-28-2021, 04:39 AM
@tention @tention is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cologne / Germany
Posts: 184
Default Re: *******Don't install the new security update from Apple for Catalina or Mojave***

While I am not affected (since my system is offline most of the time, with small online periods for planned updates) I think this should make AVID, apple and the entire pro audio sector (all of us) think.

Cloud based copy protection means that our systems are either not as safe as possible or potentially incompatible with the latest version of our combination softwares at a given point in time.

Of course, for those of us who work on copyright critical material for clients this means we will absolutely NEED continued support for offline systems with dongles (as long as there is no simpler serial number system in place). A copy protection system for DAWs that needs a steady internet connection has a second real problem other than copy protection server maintenance work or a broken internet connection: online security.

Apple is mentioning that the vulnerabilities they fixed in the x.5.1 updates have already been used in the wild to attack mac systems.
So what do you do when you want to work with your hardware controllers and DAW but also want to use the internet on the same machine?

It's a good sign that AVID has been completely open about the OLED problem and that they are already working on a solution, but maybe we should all take a step back and think about that internet connection to our DAW systems again...
__________________
SOUND!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*******Fix for Apple Security Update bricking displays******* EddieJones Artist Series 63 09-18-2021 11:05 AM
Do not load latest Security Update from Apple Park Seward macOS 5 03-12-2015 06:22 AM
apple security update 2009-002? nst7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-14-2009 11:45 AM
OK To Do Apple Security Updates? hitshack Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-30-2006 07:29 AM
Apple's security update is out, should i update? Arvid Gunardi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-25-2003 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com